Marketing Manager (Female, Age 25) in New York, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Marketing Manager in New York, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMarketing Manager
Salary$68,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNew York, NY
Years Experience1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Teen Vogue magazine on the publishing side. There are about 40 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I market the magazine through presentations and proposals to clients who advertise or are interested in advertising in the magazine.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health and dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the people who actually sell the magazine on a daily basis. I also work with different aspects of marketing in order to include a full and integrated marketing proposal for our clients.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. The space is very open and I like having the privacy of working in an office but no walls makes it feel more fun and alive.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 8
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWaking up and communting to work while checking e-mail en route.
8am to 9amGetting to the office and catching up with coworkers about their weekends or nights. Usually the department will have a status about upcoming projects. Work on some proposals and meet about new proposals coming through.
9am to 10amWork on some proposals and answer e-mails.
10am to 11amReview with my boss about a proposal I am submitting.
11am to 12pmMeet with sales rep about upcoming meetings.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmWork on some proposals and answer e-mails. Address follow up questions regarding specific client meetings.
2pm to 3pmMeet with the art department about the design of a custom presentation.
3pm to 4pmBig marketing meeting about a sell sheet for a big marketing program. Tasks are divided up.
4pm to 5pmSales and marketing general meetings about how the magazine is doing money wise and what the goals are for next month.
5pm to 6pmSend off finished proposals. Proof read in the works projects from Art.
6pm to 7pmLeave work while still checking e-mail.
7pm to 8pmDinner and drinks with friends.
8pm to 9pmDinner and drinks with friends.
9pm to 10pmDinner and drinks with friends.
10pm to 11pmTV catch up.
11pm to 12amBed time.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was reccomended

What was the application process?
I sent my resume to the HR person who contacted me

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I had multiple interviews with different levels of management

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They were detailed questions about my job at the time and why I wanted to leave and what would my ideal job be

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I have the freedom to manage my own work

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Previous job experience

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel my education gave me a passion for marketing but not specific skill sets

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not intern in this field.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
If they are coming straight from college I strongly recommend getting an internship in the sales or marketing departments. Magazines are always looking for interns. If they are already in the industry then they should go through a head hunter or other networking.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need to have a creative mind set, be organized, detail orientated and enjoy marketing. Being social is important but more so for the sales aspect.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No but a desire to learn marketing is important

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Talk to different people, read the trade publications (Ad Age, MediaWeek, WWD) to see who is winning business and HIRING. Talk to head hunters and dont be afraid to just contact HR departments. Internships are very important, most interns get hired.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is part of the bigger plan. I wanted some fun marketing experience in new york city.

What are your current career goals?
I want to go to business school in a year and deepen my career in marketing in order to go into consumer marketing and be a marketing manager for a product like Pepsi.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Marketing Manager2 weeks68000Marketing the magazine to advertisers
Prior Job 2Marketing Manager1 year57000Marketing the magazine to advertisers

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2University of MarylandMarketing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.