Loan Administrator Ii (Female, Age 47) in Westminster, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 47 who works as a Loan Administrator Ii in Westminster, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLoan Administrator Ii
Salary$39,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWestminster, NY
Years Experience2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Susquehanna is a regional financial services holding company with assets of approximately $17.5 billion. It includes a commercial bank that provides financial services at more than 250 office locations in the Mid-Atlantic region. Through Susquehanna Wealth Management, the company offers investment, fiduciary, brokerage, insurance, retirement planning and private banking services. Susquehanna also operates an insurance and employee benefits company, a commercial finance company, and a vehicle leasing company. Our extensive portfolio of financial products and services is

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Sending completed loan packages to our central back office area for booking, ordering UCC searchs & property searches for new/refinanced loans, sending UCC alerts & business entity reports to lenders to advise them of a change in status or a new loan for their customers, back-up to processing the approval inbox where all requests for new loans & modifications are routed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
PPO Health insurance, dental insurance, vision incurance, 401K, HSA, 28 days of PTO

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work fairly independently but have a supervisor available if questions arise. I do like working in this manner.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a business park approximately 45 minutes away from home. the only thing I dislike is the commute to get to work.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommute
8am to 9amCommute–arrive to work at 8:30

Check emails–respond to any requests for loan documents immediately

Prepare post-closing packages to send to booking, checking to ensure all loan documentation is included in package

9am to 10amWork on requests for UCC reports & property searches, send to appropriate lending assts.
10am to 11amPrepare post-closing packages to send to booking, as in earlier in the day
11am to 12pmWork on UCC alerts & business entity reports, send to lenders to advise of our customers securing financing with other companies
12pm to 1pmPrepare post-closing packages to send to booking, more of the same, a big part of what I do all day. I also make sure loans are recorded on a central log and the stage of the loan is updated to booking in our Business to Business directory to track the progress of the loan
1pm to 2pm1:00 – 1:30 lunch

1:30 – 2:00 Cover the approval inbox for Lynda’s lunch, send new loan requests to mgr. to be routed to loan specialist, send mods. to mod specialist

2pm to 3pmPrepare post-closing packages to send to booking, once again updating the log and loan status as needed
3pm to 4pmWork on UCC alerts & business entity reports, send to lenders to advise of our customers securing financing with other companies. Lenders appreciate this information as it may indicate that a customer is taking their lending business elsewhere.
4pm to 5pmGet proof work ready to send with courier

Prepare final post-closing packages to send to booking, once again checking the logs & loan status

5pm to 6pm5:00 leave for the day
6pm to 7pmCommute home, arrive between 6:00 & 6:30
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Susquehanna.net

What was the application process?
applied online and attached resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I interviewed with my direct supervisor, the dept. mgr., & our HR person

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
did a fact-paced environment overwhelm me?

if I was offered a counter offer with my current employer would I accept the offer?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I have had excellent training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I worked with a co-worker & my supervisor to learn the basics of how our dept. functions

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I have worked in banking for 25 years and I feel I bring quite a bit of knowledge & experience to this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply online at Susquehanna.net

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Experience with loan documentation as well as a basic knowledge of loan terms

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be willing to start in an entry level job to learn everything necessary to build your knowledge & skills

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Absolutely, I feel like I have come back home where I am appreciated.

What are your current career goals?
To grow into the commercial loan specalist job & possible beyond that.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Banking is a challenging professional that can sometimes bury you in paperwork but is always interesting.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Residential lending/home equity specilist2 years34500Booked all mortgage, home equity loans. Processed escrow transactions & did end of year escrow analysis. Was back up for commercial loan booking. Processed payoffs & releases.
Prior Job 2New accounts3 years38500Opened new accounts & processed new loan request.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.