HR Manager, Recruitment (Male, Age 36) in Seattle, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 36 who works as a HR Manager, Recruitment in Seattle, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHR Manager, Recruitment
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSeattle, WA
Years Experience2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Midsize, publicly traded software company with approximately 1200 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Manage a recruitment team of 3 focused on managing talent sourcing, selection, and hiring for North America.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation; 401k; sick time; medical/dental/health insurance; ST and LT disability; life insurance; domestic partner benefits; onsite gym; subsidized parking; professional association reimbursement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
market appropriate

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I like working with people, managing/counseling people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 7
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommute time; check BlackBerry/email
8am to 9amReview/respond to email/voicemail. Perform phone screen of candidate.
9am to 10amWeekly team ‘stand up’ meeting (15 min). Meet with my manager to review/revise new legal agreement.
10am to 11amSchedule interviews. Interview candidate for high-level position in business segment.
11am to 12pmComplete interview. Eat lunch while completing this survey! Edit agreement for review at noon.
12pm to 1pmReview/finalize draft agreement. Return emails. Source candidates for currently open positions. (I’m a working recruitment manager.)
1pm to 2pmMeeting
2pm to 3pmPhone screens.
3pm to 4pmSourcing for currently open reqs.
4pm to 5pmUpdate meeting with hiring manager through 4:30. Respond to email.
5pm to 6pmWork on strategic initiatives.
6pm to 7pmCommute/Home by 6:45-7pm.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through my professional network.

What was the application process?
Intial conversation w/recruiter, online application, paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. 9 interviews–recruiter + every member of work team.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Too many to remember! A number were behavioral based situational questions, requiring me to demonstrate critical/strategic thinking abilities.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think it did in that it taught me how to think critically, analyse situations and problem solve, and write/communicate effectively in a business setting.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
It greatly assisted me in learning how to ready myself for a professional workplace.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
‘-Experience in project/program management is useful. Training in human resources is beneficial; a PHR certification could be useful.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Develop their leadership skills; self-awareness, ability to listen, ability to think critically and strategically, communication/influencing skills, ability to exectue

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes–I think graduation with a bachelors degree is important, if only to develop the critical thinking skills.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Seek mentors; participate in online/in-person professional networks and learn everything you can; read books like FYI; try to get a diversity of experience/exposure.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan to continue in this field.

What are your current career goals?
Move to a new firm as Manager of Campus Recruiting; build consultancy to work with emerging small-midsize businesses that need campus talent as part of their overall talent strategy.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Project Recruiter1 yearResponsible for managing full-cycle recruitment for large segments of the hospital system including Pharmacy, IT, Clinical Informatics, Finance, and Hospital Billing.
Prior Job 2Manager, Talent Development Programs4 yearsPerformed campus recruitment and program management for large Financial Services institution.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Oregon State UPolitical Science, BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.