Sales Manager (Male, Age 23) in Portland, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 23 who works as a Sales Manager in Portland, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSales Manager
Salary$65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPortland, OR
Years Experience2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We sell chains/H&I products

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
East coast operations

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Med, dental, vision, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I love it!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amNot here
8am to 9amMeetings
9am to 10amMeetings
10am to 11amMeetings
11am to 12pmSales calls
12pm to 1pmSales calls
1pm to 2pmSales calls
2pm to 3pmMeet w/my sales teams
3pm to 4pmMeet w/my sales teams
4pm to 5pmMeet w/my sales teams
5pm to 6pmwrap up meeting-
6pm to 7pmN/A
7pm to 8pmN/A
8pm to 9pmN/A
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Jobdango.com

What was the application process?
Resume, paperwork, interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
YES! 2 interviews w/managers/owners.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
???

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes! They did a great job, still learning!

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, product knowledge!

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and No-college is just a piece of paper, expiernce talks

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to College!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be a people person/good listner!

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes-college

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Knwo your products,good at on the fly questions

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I want to be a CEO, this helps!

What are your current career goals?
Make more $.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales6 months45000Car rental/sales company
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Washington State UniversityManagement/HR
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.