Modeler (Male, Age 26) in Memphis, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 26 who works as a Modeler in Memphis, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleModeler
Salary$47,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMemphis, TN
Years Experience2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
An international Fortune 1000 organization. Has around 10,000 employees. Company specializes in electrical components as well as steel structures for utility transfer.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Use SolidWorks to create models for utility transfer poles.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, personal time, floating holidays, medical, dental, vision, 401K, life, std, ltd

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I deal with coworkers on a daily basis. It is a great boost to have the people I work with around me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWake up, drive to work (appox 22 min), check emails, get coffee
8am to 9amContinue working on models. If it is a new project start gathering required information.
9am to 10amContinue working on models. If completed, submit for approval or checking.
10am to 11amContinue working on or start working on models. If drawings have been checked, make required changes.
11am to 12pmContinue working on or start working on models. If drawings have been approved, send to customer for final approval.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmContinue working on or start working on models. If drawings are approved, start on fabrication drawings.
2pm to 3pmContinue working on or start working on models. Once finished with fabrication drawings, submit for checking.
3pm to 4pmContinue working on or start working on models. If fabrication drawings have been marked up, make changes.
4pm to 5pmContinue working on or start working on models. If fabrication drawings have been approved, submit to plant for fabrication.
5pm to 6pmGo home.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
resume, skilss test, interview, offer

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
4 interviews, 2 group leaders, 1 manager, 1 hr

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes… I knew what was going to be heading my way before i set off on my own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes… sitting in with a fellow worker and learning the process

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes… i knew the software that the company uses

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Know the tolls you will be working with, learn something about the company you wish to get on board with, stay focused, have a great attitude

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social, technical, organizational, communication

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
a firm grasp on the tools that you will be using

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
keep your nose down and get the job done

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes… it is where I want to be.

What are your current career goals?
work hard and move up in the company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Structural Designer2yr33000
Prior Job 2Cad Operator1yr25000

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4STCCn/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)