Head Accountant (Female, Age 26) in Joliet, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Head Accountant in Joliet, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHead Accountant
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationJoliet, IL
Years Experience2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a school district that consists of 5 schools with between 250 and 300 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I handle many of the financial aspects of a school including journal entries, bank reconciliations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 days vacation, 10 days sick time, medical/dental insurance, IMRF

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes…I love to work with others, it helps give me a healthy balance of communication daily. While not everything I do is with another I also enjoy my time by myself.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStart work at 7:30 am and first thing I do is check email and eat breakfast.
8am to 9amI look through the piles on my desk and make a list of things that must be done that day.
9am to 10amI work on bank reconciliations for most of the mornings since I am new. Before I came there was no one in this position for 2 full months and it is taking some time for me to catch up in this position.
10am to 11amToday I was asked to check to see if a few checks cleared the bank. I have access to online banking so I looked online to find that 2 of the 3 checks had cleared.
11am to 12pmI continue my bank reconciliations, I am on the month of October. I go through all of the deposits that were input into the computer system and compare those to what the bank is showing, I am still out of balance $600.
12pm to 1pmTime for lunch.
1pm to 2pmSeeing as I did not find a mistake this morning I must continue looking for the $600. My boss asks me to come into his office and he asks how I like the job and if I feel I’m learning anything. Short meeting.
2pm to 3pmI decide I need a break from looking for the $600 and void some checks in the computer system that Cheryl has given me.
3pm to 4pmLast hour of my day, I prepare journal entries. I also print a daily statement of position to make sure I balance on the cash accounts on a daily basis.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, to gain experience in an educational setting.

What are your current career goals?
To get a Type 75 certificate and one day become Business Manager.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I’m very excited about being in a new industry.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Staff Accountant2.5 years40497Journal entries, monthly financials, bank reconciliations
Prior Job 2Teller supervisor2 years25000Basic teller work, supervise tellers, audit cashier’s checks and money orders, order supplies, open/close bank, prepare schedule

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.92Lewis UniversityB.S. Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.2Lewis UniversityM.B.A. Accounting

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.