Sales Rep (Female, Age 24) in renton, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Sales Rep in renton, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Rep
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 55
Company Size (not answered)
Location renton, WA
Years Experience 2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
lithia motors

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
sell cars, customer service

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k,health/dental/vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes we work in teams and sometimes partner up to work on 1 customer. I like working with others because it shows that you are part of a group everyone succeeds together.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
car showroom. nice because its not confind in a small office, but it can get noisy since people are always in and out.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am home sweet home
8am to 9am Madatory sales meeting. We go over the number of cars sold the previous day/week. We commend our top sellers. We go over new techniques on getting more sales. We also talk about new incentives to draw customers to buy. Also talk about the new cars we have on the lot.
9am to 10am go back to work station and call all of your customers that you need to call. Also call customer that bought a car from you and ask them to fill out a customer satisfaction survey to see if they are satisfied with your service.
10am to 11am Get out to the lot where all the cars are and walk around the used car lot to see if any customers need help/ The make your way to the new car lot to check for customers.
11am to 12pm Get out to the lot where all the cars are and walk around the used car lot to see if any customers need help/ The make your way to the new car lot to check for customers.
12pm to 1pm Get out to the lot where all the cars are and walk around the used car lot to see if any customers need help/ The make your way to the new car lot to check for customers.
1pm to 2pm Get out to the lot where all the cars are and walk around the used car lot to see if any customers need help/ The make your way to the new car lot to check for customers.
2pm to 3pm Once you have a potenial customer pull the car out of the lot and show them all the features of the car. Then take them on a test drive. Then once they are committed to buy take them inside and start the negotiating process.
3pm to 4pm to negotiate first do a credit check and if they have a trade in call and find out the value of their trade in car.
4pm to 5pm Offer only 3 times because if you offer too many times they will get upset and exhausted and walk away. Once you reach a number that both sides agree on. Then congratulate them on their new car. Get the car into service and let them drive home in a brand new car!
5pm to 6pm Log out of the system and clean up your work station and get ready to go home. Make sure you sign in and out because if you forget…there goes your bonus.
6pm to 7pm home sweet home
7pm to 8pm home sweet home
8pm to 9pm home sweet home
9pm to 10pm home sweet home
10pm to 11pm home sweet home
11pm to 12am home sweet home

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
craigslist

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
interviewd with personnel coordinator, then with sales manager, then general sales manager, then finally with general manager

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
“why do you want to be a saleswomen?”. “What makes you think you qualify as a saleswomen?” “Where did you work before?”

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, the training was great. they gave me step by step training on how to make a sales and it really works

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, it entailed passing a math/english assessment. It included training on all types of vehicles the sotre carries. Communication training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, because through school i was an art major not business/sales

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
be confident in yourself and be truthful about your skills and abilites

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good social/persuasive skills, be able to work quickly and remember things, courteous, be able to have a good attitude and handle rejection.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
take care of your customers and always try to offer them help and listening is the key.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, because i would like to open my own business and this is a good stepping stone for me

What are your current career goals?
i would like to open up my own flowershop

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
car sales business can be tough, but if you are determined then you can do anything.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 customer service 4 months 11.25 an hour answer phones, take down orders, charge credit/debit cards, answer questions about products
Prior Job 2 customer service 8 months 10 an hour answer calls, make appointments, charge credit/debit, help customers with questions regarding services offered

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 sierra college art/computer designs
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.