Teacher (Female, Age 21) in Cookeville, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 21 who works as a Teacher in Cookeville, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Cookeville, TN
Years Experience 2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
mid sized middle school- 700 students.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
teach students, cover standards, keep students safe.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
5 days sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, i like it. I knew going into it I would work with people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
classroom is large and spacious. I can decorate it however I want. I like that.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I arrive at work and get my classroom ready for the students to enter.
8am to 9am The students get here, and we start first period. I go by my lesson plan book.
9am to 10am Second period is during this part. This class is lower functioning than first period. I use my lesson plans, but I use them more loosely.
10am to 11am This has third period. This class is right before lunch, and it can be a difficult time to keep them focused.
11am to 12pm Lunch time! I either monitor the cafeteria or eat in the teacher lunch room.
12pm to 1pm Fourth period is during this time. They are an easy class. I follow my lesson plan
1pm to 2pm Fifth period is during this time. This is my planning period. I work on lesson plans and research anything I need to learn more about before I teach it. I also plan with other teachers who have the same planning period.
2pm to 3pm Sixth period is the final class of the day. Keeping their attention can be tough.
3pm to 4pm School is dismissed and I stay to tutor. Any student can come for help.
4pm to 5pm I leave school during this time.
5pm to 6pm I am home
6pm to 7pm I am home for this time
7pm to 8pm Sometimes, I do more planning if necessary
8pm to 9pm This time is used for planning if necessary
9pm to 10pm I relax at home
10pm to 11pm I go to bed during this tume
11pm to 12am I am asleep during this time.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
through a friend.

What was the application process?
submit resume, paper application, interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, one interview with the principal.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
scenarios about teaching

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
n/a

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
hours in a classroom during college. I taught and worked with the students and teachers.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I feel like I had proper experience before I was hired. I feel comfortable starting my new job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
do well in school, make connections, talk to principals, substitute teach, volunteer in classrooms

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills because your whole job is communication. organization skills because you will want your students to have the same. patience is definitely important as well.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
bachelor’s degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
don’t give up. forget about the bad days because the next day will be completely different. don’t carry grudges with your students.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I plan to stay here forever. This is what I went to college to do, and I am blessed to have this job

What are your current career goals?
Be a superior teacher and become an administrator one day

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 n/a n/a n/a n/a
Prior Job 2 n/a n/a n/a n/a

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.9 Tennessee Tech Bachelors degree, elementary education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a n/a n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.