Nanny (Female, Age 29) in Hollywood, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Nanny in Hollywood, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNanny
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHollywood, FL
Years Experience2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a private family

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Child care, cleaning, cooking

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the family I work for, spending all the time with the children. Yes I do enjoy the social aspect of the job

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home – It is a relaxed atmosphere, with very little stress. Not having to wear a uniform is nice.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWake up and head out to work as a nanny.
8am to 9amArrive at the family’s house. The first job is to wake the children up, get them washed, dressed and teeth brushed. This usually takes a good hour
9am to 10amDo dishes and make breakfast for the children and myself. Sit down to eat and talk about what we are going to do for the day.
10am to 11amClean the house whilst entertaining the children. Do more dishes, put dirty laundry in machine, take out trash, sweep floors. The children “help”.
11am to 12pmPut clothes in dryer, then fold them and put them away, pick up toys. Again the children “help”. Make the children snack and juice.
12pm to 1pmDo finger painting outside in the yard. Speak to the parents on the phone. clean up after painting. put painting on the fridge.
1pm to 2pmMake lunch and eat, then clean up after lunch.
2pm to 3pmDrive to the grocery store with children, and then stop and the park on the way home.
3pm to 4pmPlay and park for a good hour.
4pm to 5pmGet the children home and bathed and into PJ’s.
5pm to 6pmParents come home and my day of work is done.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
Went to meet the people in person for an interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the whole family for about 30 minutes.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Past job history, am i punctual, child care opinions

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was told in detail beforehand what my job would entail.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I studied animal care

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Advertise that you are avalible to nanny in the newspaper, craigslist ect. Join an agency. There is always lot’s of work to be had.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience, kindness, organization skills, tidy, helpful, loyal

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No, not really

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be as open as you can, make sure that you get on well with the family. Have a trial run for a week or so. treat the children as your own.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I planned to work with animals

What are your current career goals?
To work with animals again, hopefully in the wild.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Animal care1 yearnoneReleasing Scarlett Macaws back into the wild
Prior Job 2zoo keeper4 yearsunsureAnimal feeding, cleaning, educating the public.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.