Teachers Aide (Female, Age 52) in Redlands, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 52 who works as a Teachers Aide in Redlands, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeachers Aide
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRedlands, CA
Years Experience2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large State Preschool also a teaching school at a college

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Assist the teacher in supervising students including teaching, reading, singing and changing clothes.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
paid holidays and sick days, health insurance,

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I work with little people everyday and I love it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at a state funded child development center. We get by the best we can but we could use more funding. It would be nice to be able to take the student on a field trip sometimes.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 7
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet dressed, eat, watch the news
8am to 9amget stuff in the car and leave for work at 8:30
9am to 10amGreet the children, large group time, breakfast snack
10am to 11amcheck homework, recess, story time
11am to 12pmsmall group activity, free play time, observation notes
12pm to 1pmlunch for students, then free play or art activity. At 12:30 the children lay down to nap and I work on the afternoon project until the teacher comes back from lunch.
1pm to 2pmwhile the children are napping I take a break. At 1:50 we start waking the students and stacking cots.
2pm to 3pmAfternoon activity, recess, get ready to go home. We all go home at 3:00.
3pm to 4pmSometimes I have to stay later for clean up or to wait for parents, then I go home
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
at college

What was the application process?
resume, interview, portfolio, references

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Individual interview with the center director.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Are you willing to provide children with a safe and caring place to learn.

Do you have children of your own.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes because of my experience

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I am currently in college and going for my master teachers certificate.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
It is currently a work in progress

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
it still is

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to college, put in the time and energy. Learn the lessons so you can teach them to others

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be able to make decision, organized, caring,consistent, and fortitude.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes in this state you will need an AA to become a teacher

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You must like children and be willing to serve as a role model to them. Children will learn by watching others so you have to be your best to give them the best, all in the benefit of children.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I need a certain number of hours for my degree.

What are your current career goals?
Master teacher at a state run preschool

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Everyone needs to go to school, for your whole life you need to keep learning.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1secretary13 years13.00 hrs.Highly stressful job including all aspects with running a small business.

Customer service, accounting, general office skills

Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Crafton Hills Collegechild development
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.