Financial Advisor Assistant (Female, Age 26) in Bloomington, MN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Financial Advisor Assistant in Bloomington, MN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Advisor Assistant
Salary$11,200
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week20
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBloomington, MN
Years Experience2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a big firm that deals with giving financial advice and investing money for their clients.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties consist of helping the financial advisor. I get information ready for the advisor so she can meet with and discuss it with her clients. I also make appointments and send out mailings to clients. I do simple filing and answering of phones as well.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do work with two people on a daily basis. I do like working with other people. I tend to be an outgoing person and I like to be able to talk with others during the day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at the home of the financial advisor. I actually like it better than working at the office. It is more laid back and I don’t have to deal with all the office politics.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amnot at work yet
8am to 9amnot at work yet
9am to 10amnot at work yet
10am to 11amnot at work yet
11am to 12pmnot at work yet
12pm to 1pmDiscussed the daily jobs that needed to be done with other assistant. Started getting information ready for a client.
1pm to 2pmStarted mailing out correspondaence to clients about reviews.
2pm to 3pmGetting acquainted with Fianacial websites
3pm to 4pmTalked with boss about future plans once other assistant leaves.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
a friend

What was the application process?
submitted a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I did have an interview. My boss took me to lunch and we had our interview there.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What jobs have you had in the past?What are you looking for. Why do you think you would be good for the job?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, training was involved and I think that is most important

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, the current assistant is showing me what all needs to be done.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I am actually way over prepared as I have a degree in Finance.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I feel like I am in a very unique situation working at the advisors home. But I would say that looking in the newspaper or even talking with an advisor about it would be a good idea.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Socially they should be able to get along with people well. They should be able to take critism and orders well. Technically having a financial background would be very helpful but not necessarily needed.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
high school and some college

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
N/A

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
NO. I planned on staying home with my children and then this opportunity came along.

What are your current career goals?
I really do not have any at the time.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1Texas A&MFinance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.