Registered Nurse (Female, Age 31) in North Richland Hills, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Registered Nurse in North Richland Hills, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Registered Nurse
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location North Richland Hills, NY
Years Experience 2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small physician owned hospital that consists of an urgent care and surgery center.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Administer medications to patients, critically evaluate pt status, provide ongoing care to the hospitalized patient after surgery.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3.7 hours of paid time off per 2 weeks, 401k program and medical benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Average compensation for experience

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with people on a daily basis. From parents of patients, patients, doctors, and other healthcare professionals. I enjoy interacting w/others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a small hospital setting. I like the staff and the location and dislike the overnight hours.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I work nights so this would be 7pm-8pm

Check work assisgnment/room assisgnments

take report from nurse leaving

If I have an inpatient (one staying overnight from surgery) – take report and review chart

8am to 9am 8p-9p

assess patient (blood pressure, wound, temp, etc…)

document above findings

9am to 10am 9p-10p

administer medications

repeat any necessary assessments

10am to 11am pm

administer meds

repeat assessments

discuss any needs w/patient and family

11am to 12pm repeat vital signs

meds if needed

update chart

12pm to 1pm update chart

meds if needed

1pm to 2pm see above
2pm to 3pm 2am – 3 am

check on patient

attend to needs (toileting, etc)

3pm to 4pm 3a-4a

repeat vital signs

update chart (med record)

administer medications

4pm to 5pm 4a-5a

update chart

check on pt

5pm to 6pm 5a-6a

document intake and output during night

update chart

check on pt

6pm to 7pm 6a-7a

update chart

give oncoming nurse report

7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend

What was the application process?
Resume, interview, drug test, math test

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Interview with department manager and administrator of company. 2 interviews with both.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What can I bring to this job? Why did I leave my other job? What skills can I bring here?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes – on the job orientation with a peer

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Bachelor’s degree, orientation

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes- skills labs, clinical work

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get an associates or bachelors degree in nursing. I recommend an assocites, then getting tuition reimbursement for a bachelor’s degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are important, as well as learning on the job and taking helpful criticism.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes – a degree in the field and on the job orientation

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Study hard, work hard and have fun doing both

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes – is a different field with more expierence

What are your current career goals?
Possible switch to school nurse

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Nurse Tech 1 yr Assist nursing personnel with vital signs, lab work, secretary work
Prior Job 2 RN 5 yrs Assess patients using critical thinking, collaborate with others in the field (doctor, lab, PT/OT, etc..), administer medications

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Baylor University Nursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.