Payroll Clerk (Female, Age 50) in Wyandotte, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 50 who works as a Payroll Clerk in Wyandotte, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Payroll Clerk
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Wyandotte, MI
Years Experience 2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Trucking Company with locations in Michigan, Illinois, Kentucky and Ohio. Approximately 500 people are employed.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Driver payroll, invoicing, administrative duties to the owner, filing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 5 sick days, medical insurance and 401k available participation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am on my way to work
8am to 9am pickup mail at other location; driver payroll breakdown
9am to 10am invoicing; filing
10am to 11am driver payroll
11am to 12pm enter invoices into computer
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm driver payroll breakdown
2pm to 3pm invoicing submission/filing
3pm to 4pm driver payroll; filing
4pm to 5pm run final invoicing
5pm to 6pm on my way home
6pm to 7pm n/a
7pm to 8pm n/a
8pm to 9pm n/a
9pm to 10pm n/a
10pm to 11pm n/a
11pm to 12am n/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
go to location and fill out paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I had two interviews with my current Supervisor and was asked general questions regarding background and personal interests.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was given ample training by employee and supervisor.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Training by another employee.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I believe my graduating from high school helped.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
check the newspaper/ on-line under accounting/clerical

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
computer, social skills, organization skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
listen and take direction

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I do not want to look for other employment.

What are your current career goals?
Moving up in my company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Receptionist 13 years 27000 answered phones, customer service, mail, filing, computer work
Prior Job 2 Administrative Assistant 7 years 22000 typed reports for social workers

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/a n/a n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a n/a n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.