Treatment Team Leader (Female, Age 47) in Tupper Lake, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 47 who works as a Treatment Team Leader in Tupper Lake, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Treatment Team Leader
Salary $74,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Tupper Lake, NY
Years Experience 2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
In patient treatment for individuals with diagnoses of developmental disabilities. Over 1500 employees for all campus and community based programs.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Over see the department of 6 investigators. Investigate allegations of abuse within the facility. Member of various committees, maintain time sheets, chair department meetings, provide performance evaluations to the investigators

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Deferred compensation, medical, dental, eye insurance, 40hrs PL, 12 hours per month vacation, 64 hours sick per year

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with several individuals daily. I enjoy this.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My own office on the 4th floor of a fairly large residential (school) setting. Old facility dating back to the 1930’s.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am Arrive at 8am, check email and phone messages, then check mail box, review calendar for the day. Met with each team member to see where they were at with their investigations.

Reviewed interrogation questions with investigator.

9am to 10am Reviewed investigation to set up interviews
10am to 11am Interrogation with Union and target of an investigation
11am to 12pm Continued to review investigation and set up time to conduct interviews.
12pm to 1pm Lunch from 12:15-12:45pm. Checked email
1pm to 2pm Went to get new ID then to other unit to conduct investigation interviews
2pm to 3pm Conducting interview
3pm to 4pm Meeting to discuss closed and open cases
4pm to 5pm Returned to office at 4pm, checked phone messages, email, filed and cleaned up to leave at 4:30pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Aware of facility sent a resume and completed a job application, family members worked at the facility

What was the application process?
Resume, paper application, then took a civil service exam

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Interviewed with the Deputy Director and Quality Management Coordinator, only 1 interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Scenerio questions, supervisory issue questions, questions about dealing with difficult employees, regulation questions, strengths and weaknesses, and computer abilities

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No there is never enough training in most positions in the facility. You jump in and learn as you go.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Supervisor Training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my educational background is sociology and social work; training in counseling and interacting with difficult individuals.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
My internship was with geriatrics; I guess some relevance.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Bachelors in a human service field, internship with individuals with developmental disabilities, be able to work in a team setting

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good communication skills, listening skills, counseling skills, must be organized and can meet time lines, able to assess varying situations, be opened minded and go into investigations unbiased, good writing skills, able to work as a team member, advocate for those with developmental disabilities.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be open minded, must be professional through some very tough investigative issues involving abuse of developmentally disabled individuals, work cooperatively with other professionals at the facility

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I continue to move up in the ladder and this recent move is a supervisor position which gives future advances, 16 year employee planning to complete 30 years.

What are your current career goals?
To be successful at my current position and make improvements in the agency for the better of those served

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Social Worker Asssistant 15 years 65000 Counseling with the inpatient consumers served by the agency, liason between the facility and outside agencies, placement planning, contact with family members, ran an anger management group and social skills group, member of treatment team.
Prior Job 2 Child Protection 4 years 32000 Investigations of child abuse, certification of foster homes, member of treatment team, liason between schools, families and other agencies, provide support to families in need of obtaining resources from community agencies, complete family assessments.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:honors

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75 Plattsburgh State BS Sociology/minor psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.