Support Worker (Female, Age 48) in St Catharines, ON

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Support Worker in St Catharines, ON. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSupport Worker
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSt Catharines, ON
Years Experience2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
a non profit organization supporting disabled adults in a residential setting

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
taking care of all personal, emotional and spiritual needs of handicapped adults

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I have to work with others and I like it somewhat but some people are total backstabbers and weasels.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
In a residential setting – it’s a brand new huge top of the line house – very nice

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ambath clients

make breakfast

dispense meds

clean kitchen

dishes

laundry

8am to 9amserve breakfast

personal grooming of clients

paperwork

9am to 10amtake clients to scheduled daily activities
10am to 11amclients to scheduled activities or recreational pursuits
11am to 12pmprepare and serve lunch

clean up after lunch

12pm to 1pmclients go to recreation, work or other activities

take clients out for drive

1pm to 2pmfinish laundry

cleaning duties

garbage disposal

2pm to 3pmend of day paperwork

shift change report

any unfinished tasks

3pm to 4pmgo home
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from friend

What was the application process?
send application on line

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, initial interview was with potential manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Too long ago

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, all our training is kept up to date.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was trained on the job by coworkers along with additional on the job training as required.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I am in school presently to enhance my career potential.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not applicable

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go and get your developmental support worker certificate at college

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
lots of patience and medical knowledge

compassion

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
college degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you are fully emotionally and physically prepared

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I am trying to escape their nasty grip. Too many backstabbers at work.

What are your current career goals?
Finish my degree and get a new job

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I find my employer hard to work for.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1office worker2 years20000arrange and plan events for a festival

clerical duties

Prior Job 2retail clerk3 years22000working in a retail setting at a cash register

providing tourism information

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:77

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Niagara
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.