Cook (Female, Age 48) in Rural Retreat, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Cook in Rural Retreat, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Cook
Salary $5,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25
Company Size (not answered)
Location Rural Retreat, VA
Years Experience 2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
daycare

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
cook breakfast and lunch

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the teachers and serve the children. don’t like them coughing and sneezing on me

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am get up, fix breakfast for my family, let the dog out, leave for work at 7:30-arrive at work at 7:50, clock in
8am to 9am look at menu to see what we are having. turn oven on if needed. get food needed from freezer. cook food. when cooked put on cart and wheel out to serve children.
9am to 10am do dishes and clean up kitchen. get food out that will be needed for lunch.
10am to 11am turn oven back on, if needed. prepare food for lunch.
11am to 12pm put food on cart and wheel it out to feed the approximately 30 children.
12pm to 1pm do dishes, clean up kitchen, take out trash
1pm to 2pm clock out at 1 p.m. drive home
2pm to 3pm n/a
3pm to 4pm n/a
4pm to 5pm n/a
5pm to 6pm n/a
6pm to 7pm n/a
7pm to 8pm n/a
8pm to 9pm n/a
9pm to 10pm n/a
10pm to 11pm n/a
11pm to 12am n/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. one interview and i was hired

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
when can i start

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
not sure

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
be able to cook

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
just be able to cook

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
don’t do it for the money

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no-want to get back into secretarial work

What are your current career goals?
go back to school to get more education to work with computers as secretary

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 server 1year 7.84 hour worked part time in school cafeteria
Prior Job 2 pizza restaurnat 2 years 5.40 hour worked full time in pizza restaurant

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.