Corporate Paralegal (Female, Age 36) in bethesda, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Corporate Paralegal in bethesda, MD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCorporate Paralegal
Salary$69,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbethesda, MD
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Real estate development company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Compliance and corporate housekeeping for parent and subsids; litigation; contracts and leases; asset management; insurance.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401, health, flex

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I love working with the people in my office.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. Traffic can be a little much. Other than that I lover where I work.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 7
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amSleeping/getting ready for work.
8am to 9amDrop off son at daycare, drive to work.
9am to 10amArrive at work, get coffee, read over emails and phone messages. Begin to gather documents that will be recorded at the Circuit Court in Upper Marlboro. Meet with collegue regarding land records to be filed. Contact Dept. of Finance to ensure recording is possible.
10am to 11amTravel from Bethesda, MD to Upper Marlboro, MD to record No Consideration Deed and meet with Prince George’s Dept. of Finance regarding real estate taxes.
11am to 12pmMeet with Prince George’s Dept. of Finance regarding real estate taxes, pay taxes and record No Consideration Deed with Circuit Court.
12pm to 1pmTravel back to the office from Upper Marlboro, MD.
1pm to 2pmMeet with collegue regarding No Consideration Deed. Meet with accounting regarding real estate taxes. Update real estate lot spreadsheet to reflect taxes.
2pm to 3pmMeet with General Counsel to discuss update sale of building, begin working on insurance renewal information for company insurance. Call with collegue regarding car rental policies. Begin research of land parcels that need to be conveyed to HOA. Meet with engineer regarding same.
3pm to 4pmContinue working on HOA parcel research and begin to draft deed to convey property to HOA.
4pm to 5pmTelephone call with insurance broker regarding insurance renewal. Meet with AVP to discuss asset information. Meet with HR regarding workers compensation issues. Call with General Counsel to update on pending litigation.
5pm to 6pmCall to out-side counsel re update on pending litigation and review lititgation files.
6pm to 7pmGone for the day
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet.

What was the application process?
Resume and then interviews.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I went through two rounds of interviews.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Mostly about personality. I was more the qualified for the position, they were looking for the right person to fit the company.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I was under attorney supervision for 15 years.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. I’m currently in school again for my undergraduate for legal studies.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First, you will need to work with attorneys, maybe in a law firm setting. After you have gone through the firm setting, then make the transition into a company. I have chosen small companies to work for. It may be less money, but you get more out of your work day.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Versitilaty, must have good social skills and not be afraid to ask questions. Must be able to work with high level executives as well as administrative staff. Organization and a good memory is also a plus.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, but one or the other. On the job training for a paralegal is by supervising attorneys, so if you work for a good attorney, you skill level will match, or exceed those who have gone to school.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
LISTEN! It is so important to listen, take direction and follow instructions.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I hope so. I’m hoping to be the Assistant Corporate Secretary and AVP.

What are your current career goals?
Assistant Corporate Secretary of AVP.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Paralegal/EA6 months70000Attorney (no general counsel), leases, contracts, negotiations of contracts, trade show coordinator
Prior Job 2Corporate Specialist2 years70000Corporate housekeeping and securities work.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
University of MDLegal Studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.