Nanny (Female, Age 21) in New York, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 21 who works as a Nanny in New York, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNanny
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNew York, NY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in Soho. I am the nanny of a 2 year old girl.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Changing diapers, reading to, and feeding the child. Moderate cooking, cleaning.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I sometimes work with the parents of the child. I dislike this because it makes me feel like I am not needed as a nanny.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
In a home. I like being in a nice apartment.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amsleep
8am to 9amsleep
9am to 10amwake up go to work
10am to 11amchange diaper, feed breakfast, take to park.
11am to 12pmPlay at park, or library, etc
12pm to 1pmTake child home for nap. Feed lunch before. Change diaper.
1pm to 2pmRead while child naps.
2pm to 3pmread while child naps.
3pm to 4pmChild wakes up, change diaper. Feed, give milk. Play.
4pm to 5pmPlay with child, read, etc.
5pm to 6pmPlay with child, read, etc.
6pm to 7pmParents get home. I leave and go home.
7pm to 8pmGo home, eat dinner
8pm to 9pmHang out with boyfriend
9pm to 10pmwatch movies
10pm to 11pmwatch movies
11pm to 12amgo to sleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. The interview process was going out to dinner with the mother and discussing my previous experience.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My prior jobs.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Girl Scout Babysitting certification. A course.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. To be a nanny, you need to be good with kids, which is something school cannot teach.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Choose your family wisely.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must love kids and not be afriad of bodily fluids.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get babysitting certification first.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no because I want to be a singer

What are your current career goals?
to be a singer

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a very feel-good career

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Nanny6months9/hrNanny duties.
Prior Job 2babysitter2 yrs15/hrPick up kids from school

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4The New School
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/an/an/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.