Inside Sales Rep 

(Female, Age 26) from Seattle, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Inside Sales Rep in Seattle, WA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Inside Sales Rep
Salary $28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Seattle, WA
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We offer pet insurance to customers in the U.S. and Canada. Though one of the newer pet insurance companies in the U.S., Trupanion has sold pet insurance in Canada for more than ten years.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Outbound calls to sales leads

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2wks vaca, ~5 days sick pay, typical health insurance. no retirement plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am (up for day)
9am to 10am arrive at work around 10am
10am to 11am Review emails, sales results from prior days, and begin follow up contacts. i sell pet insurance, so i start the day by reviewing my current leads. We have clients across the U.S. and Canada.
11am to 12pm Making outbound calls to current leads or follow ups.
12pm to 1pm Besides follow-ups, I make many outbound calls to “warm” leads – people who already have had service with us in some way. I primarily contact clients who have received free trials of our insurance product. I assess their interest and explain the benefits of our service. I usually call around 80-100 people a day.
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm lunch
3pm to 4pm If a customer indicates they are interested in a competitor, I research and provide information on how we differ. Usually this discussion can be had at the current phone call, but at times may require an email follow up or phone call back.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm I usually leave around 7pm.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and app via email, then had in person interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.