Medical Assitant (Female, Age 26) in Oakland, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Medical Assitant in Oakland, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Assitant
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week36
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOakland, CA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a small 4 person doctors office. We provide healthcare for alla ges.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I take vital signs, give injections, do light front office duties, and make appointments.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, medical, dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I do work with other. I love people and get along very well with almost everyone.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a doctor’s office. I love it. there is nothing that I dislike about it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amOn my way to work. Arrive at 7:45.
8am to 9amPull charts. Get exam room together. Check fax machine. Get mail to the appropriate staff member.
9am to 10amUnlock tthe doors and begin to call patients to the back office. Take vitals and room them.
10am to 11amAssist doctor with wound cleaning. Have to give a TB injection to a patient. Call more patients to back office and room them.
11am to 12pmHave to deal with phone call concerning a patient and her ill mother. Have to direct the call to the doctor. Send fax to pharmacy and Eden Medical Center.
12pm to 1pmTake a break and leave out to go oget a quick snack.
1pm to 2pmContinue to room patients and take vitals. Assist doctor with procedure regarding water in the knee.
2pm to 3pmCall the doctors last few patients to the back office and take vitals. Do some filing and update the charts.
3pm to 4pmBegin getting thr office ready for closing. Clean the exam rooms and put away equipment.
4pm to 5pmPull chart for tomorrows patients and call to remiond some of he patients about their appointment tomorrow.
5pm to 6pmOut the door by 5:01pm and on my way home.
6pm to 7pmNA
7pm to 8pmNA
8pm to 9pmNA
9pm to 10pmNA
10pm to 11pmNA
11pm to 12amNA

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Ye, I had to interveiw for my position. I had 1 interview with the office manager and it went really smoothly.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why did I want to become a Medical Assistant?, What value would I add to heir practice?, How did I rate myself as faar as being a people person.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My employer trained me in things that I didn’t even learn in school. They really took the time to help me out alot.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes there was training. I had to go to a vocational school in which there was 9 months of hands-on training and 160 hous of unpaid externship.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Without my hands-on training giving injections and veinupunctures would have been extremly difficult.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend going to a well accredited school.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, computer skills, medical skills, office skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes I do fell that way.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Enjoy the patients. They all make your job worth while

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. Working in healthcare has always been my dream.

What are your current career goals?
I want to eventually become a RN.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I recommend this job to anyone that loves people.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Medical Asisstant160hrs.N/aAnswering multi-line phones, Appointment scheduling, injections, takking vital signs, assisting with surgical procedures, data entry, verifying insurance, ordering prescription refills.
Prior Job 2Cashier1 year8.00hr.Handling cash,credit, and check transactions, Opening new customer commercial accounts, customer service

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Western Career CollegeMedical Assiting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.