Writer/Editor (Female, Age 56) in Eugene, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 56 who works as a Writer/Editor in Eugene, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleWriter/Editor
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationEugene, NY
Years Experience19 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work as a freelance writer for many different firms in the U.S. and abroad.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I write comic book scripts and edit Japanese comic book translations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Self-employed, no benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work at home in a home office. I interact with associates via phone or email every few weeks. I like working on my own.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My home office is a small converted bedroom with computer and other equipment. I love working in it because it looks out onto my backyard.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was referred to the company by another writer.

What was the application process?
I submitted a story idea.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
No interview.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My employers have outlined my duties for each project.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was no specific training for my current position, though I have attended occasional seminars presented by the company.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I studied art and writing in college, and use both skills when writing comic book scripts.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they become familiar with the product (comic books) and try writing several scripts. Attend comic book conventions and try to make contacts with publishers. Most importantly, develop your own style and be professional.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Skills needed included organizational skills (in particular, the ability to meet deadlines), technical skills (good grammar and spelling, clear writing) and creative skills (presenting fresh, new ideas not just old retreads of what’s been done before).

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell them to start out small, try to get jobs with “lesser” publishers, and keep working to improve.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I have always wanted to work in the field of publishing.

What are your current career goals?
My current goals are to develop my own projects and characters and own the copyrights to them.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Writing comic books isn’t as easy as some might imagine, but it’s a great job.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Vision Therapist2 years10000I worked with vision therapy patients in an optometric office, guiding them with exercises, etc.
Prior Job 2Florist1 year5000I designed floral arrangements and helped customers.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Kent StateBachelor of Fine Arts
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.