Home Daycare Owner (Female, Age 53) in auburn, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 53 who works as a Home Daycare Owner in auburn, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHome Daycare Owner
Salary$24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
Locationauburn, MI
Years Experience18 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for myself in my home. I have no one that works with me. I work about 50 hours a week.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide the total care and education of 6 children between the ages of 6 weeks and 12 years.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
no benifits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do not work with others during the day. I see people early in the morning and in the evening

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amgreet children and their families as they come to my home for daycare.
8am to 9amcook breakfast for the children and get the school age children ready for the bus. Smaller children will have indiviual activities that I will supervise while older children get ready.
9am to 10amread books to the children for 30 minutes go outside to play for 30 minutes. activites will be both organized and indiviual during this time.
10am to 11amcontinue to play outside for 15 minutes. go inside and wash hands and take bathroom break. get ready for group time
11am to 12pmhave group time when the children may share something about themselvse or just talk to each other and learn to take turns talking and not talking when someone else is talking.
12pm to 1pmprepare lunch for the children while they clean up any toys that may be left out
1pm to 2pmnap time for children I prepare the next days lessons
2pm to 3pmnap time continues
3pm to 4pmschool children back. spend 30 minutes outside. come inside the house and have a snack
4pm to 5pmfree play. children may play with any toys they want. I supervise activities at all times.
5pm to 6pmparent start arriving to pick up their children All children leave by 5:30 pm. I clean any messes left in the childcare area.
6pm to 7pmprepare meals for tommorrow
7pm to 8pmearrand to buy supplies.
8pm to 9pmdown time
9pm to 10pmbed time
10pm to 11pmsleep
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
needed income and also needed to care for my own children when they were young.

What was the application process?
apply for license

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to interview each of the parents of the children and show them why their children would benefit from my program.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What the children would do during the day. Would they be going outside each day. How much did I charge for the children to be cared by me. What my hours were going to be.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
na

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes. State of michigan provides training and the local community college also has an early child development program.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I continue to take classes at the local college to make sure i provide the best care ;possible for the children

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would want them to love children and be able to stay at home all the time. There is no lunch hour to run errands. I would tell them to get an early education degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organizational-because your day will go smoother. children like routines. high tolerance for constant change. Must be able to adapt to whatever the situation calls for. Must have good communication skills to communicate with the children and the parents. Must have good social skills to be able to teach the children social skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes-need education directly related to my field

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
work in someone elses daycare for a while to make sure it is what you want to do. We spend a lot of time without adult conversations.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
6 years from retirement. I will stay at this job for those 6 years.

What are your current career goals?
none. Just staying here until retirement. I will continue to attent the local college to better serve the children.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Would like to see this job, childcare, viewed as a serious profession. Most people assume you would like to do something else when you grow up, like it is just something to do between jobs. What a shame the education and care of young children is not taken more seriously.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1owner15 years60000co-owner of auto repair and wrecker service.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8deltaearly childhood education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
na

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.