Certified Home Health Aide (Female, Age 37) in Upper Darby, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Certified Home Health Aide in Upper Darby, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCertified Home Health Aide
Salary$13,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week20
Company Size(not answered)
LocationUpper Darby, PA
Years Experience18 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Bayada Nurses. It is a home healthcare agency. It has about 10 locations in the US and is based in New Jersey.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do personal care for my patients, some cooking, errands and housekeeping.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have healthcare(which I pay for)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
about average

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others. Sometimes this is enjoyable, other times it isn’t, depending on who I work with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in my patient’s home. I’ve worked in both a facilitiy and in an office and this is the best fit for me. I prefer the one-on-one contact with the patient. It is also great not to have to deal with bureaucracy directly.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI checked on my patient. He was sleeping as I checked his catheter.(bag which holds urine)
8am to 9amI checked on my patient. He was still sleeping and I removed his compression boots(plastic boots which fill periodically with air to reduce swelling of the legs and feet.
9am to 10amI assisted RN with refilling my patients medicines for the week(she was new to the case). I also prepared the bathroom for my patient’s care and got out supplies for his personal care to be used in the bedroom.
10am to 11amAnother aide arrived to assist me in getting my patient out of bed to his chair. I assisted my patient with showering. While the other aide assisted the patient with skin care, shaving, and mouth care, I took out the patient’s clothing that he would wear. I also made coffee. When the patient was finished in the bathroom, the other aide and I got him dressed and ready for the day. The other aide left.
11am to 12pmI asked my patient what he would like for breakfast, then ran to the store to get him a few things. I prepared his breakfast and assisted him a little bit with feeding. I also gave him his medications for the morning. My patient then left to socialize.
12pm to 1pmI started the first of two loads of laundry and cleaned up the bathroom.
1pm to 2pmI emptied and cleaned the catheter. I also folded the first load of laundry and put it away. Then I vacuumed and dusted my patient’s apartment. I also took out the trash.
2pm to 3pmI washed the dishes and put the rest of the laundry away.
3pm to 4pmThe next shift arrived, so I went home.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I responded to a newspaer ad.

What was the application process?
I applied and listed my previous jobs

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had to interview for this job. Honestly, the interview was so long ago I don’t really remember much of it. I know I was interviewed by a staff supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I just remember being asked about what I did at my previous jobs and my availability and schedule preferences.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Hell, no! Most of my training occurred in the field.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. Back then, training consisted of about two weeks worth of learning about patient care.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Somewhat.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Don’t be afraid of hard work. The most important thing is reliability.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
High School and a few months of training in medical procedures and patient care

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t be in this field for the money or recognition.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I suppose it is.

What are your current career goals?
I don’t really have any.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Cashier2 yearsMinimum wageRetail Sales
Prior Job 2Waitress4 months2.85/ hr plus tips

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5TempleCrimnal Justice/Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.