Deposit Balancing Specialist Ii (Female, Age 41) in Sun Prairie, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Deposit Balancing Specialist Ii in Sun Prairie, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDeposit Balancing Specialist Ii
Salary$32,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSun Prairie, NY
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Well known Midwest bank – branches throughout Wisconsin with few branches in other states

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
provide balancing support for network banks, balance daily cash transactions, made adjustments to customer accounts as needed

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
28 vacation days, 6 sick leave days, life insurance, 401K plan, PPO health insurance, dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
work in a department with approx 25 other people but interact with many more people via phone throughout the day, like the fact that everyday is different, never know what the day will bring

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office building with each employee have own desk and area

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 2
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStart work at 8 am this week
8am to 9amlog onto computer, check email for important messages pertaining to work day, print reports required for todays jobs
9am to 10amreconcile 2 accounts assigned this morning – make new entries and check if old entries have cleared

print final reports and distribute

10am to 11ambalance 3rd account of the day – print reports, compare reports to other info obtained from banks, contact branches with questions
11am to 12pmstill working on balancing 3rd account, answer phone calls from bank branches
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmcheck new employees work and verify that is all done correctly, explain a few necessary changes to her
2pm to 3pmcontinue answering phone calls, make adjustments to customer accounts for changes requested by bank
3pm to 4pmfinal organization of days reports, inputting final entries into computer, checking outgoing letters to customers for accuracy
4pm to 5pmfinal filing of daily reports, make sure everything is done, fill out service level log, complete time card and productivity record for day – done work at 4:30
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
posting at prior job

What was the application process?
submit application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
short screening interview on phone with HR person, then person to person interview with department manager and supervisor

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
don’t remember – was too nervous at the time

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes…..training was adequate and there was always someone to answer questions

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
one on one training with a fellow employee for a couple weeks, then on my own but had work checked by lead employee

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, my degree was almost 20 years old at the time….dont’ believe a degree is necessary for the position but may be an advantage

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get at least an Associate Degree is some sort of business, be willing to learn, have a good attitude

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organizational skills, ability to get along with others, good number skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
basic education is needed – High school diploma, extra education may be beneficial but not necessary

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
get some sort of job experience, be willing to learn, able to get along with others

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
not really – don’t really have a career plan, was basically a stay at home mom for years and just worked nights to supplement the family income

What are your current career goals?
no real goals at this time – have a job that I enjoy going to everyday and one that I can say I am good at

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not at this time

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Data Entry Clerk20 years17000nightly reconciling of bank’s daily activity
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6Madison Area Technical CollegeAccounting Associate Degree
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.