Registered Nurse (Female, Age 34) in birmingham, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Registered Nurse in birmingham, AL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Registered Nurse
Salary $51,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 36
Company Size (not answered)
Location birmingham, AL
Years Experience 18 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
a hospital in the baptist medical center network

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
complete plan of care, assessmet of patients, clinical skills

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
120 hours earned time off, 42 hours personal illness bank, blue cross medical, dental insurance, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work 3 12hour shifts and week and I like it because i can be home with my son.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work on a mother/baby floor

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am got report on patients. physical assessments.
8am to 9am completed physical assessments and started handing out morning meds
9am to 10am morning meds. insert catheter.
10am to 11am charting and put an NG tube down
11am to 12pm charting
12pm to 1pm lunch and charting
1pm to 2pm assessents on babies.
2pm to 3pm charting mid day meds
3pm to 4pm charting and vital signs
4pm to 5pm charting
5pm to 6pm give report on patients
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
online application, resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes and just answer a few questions

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
dont remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no i didnt get all of the training i needed

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes i have an ADN

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes i learned all of the clinical skills i needed

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get a degree and apply

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
go to school and get clinical skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
organize organize organize

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no… I want a career at a better hospital

What are your current career goals?
be an rn at a VA hospital and retire at 55

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 cust. service 2 years 20000 handles custonmer service issues
Prior Job 2 2 years 2 years 20000 medical billing

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.25 jefferson state associate in nursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.