Student Worker (Female, Age 22) in pico rivera, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Student Worker in pico rivera, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Student Worker
Salary $12,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 32
Company Size (not answered)
Location pico rivera, CA
Years Experience 18 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I currently work at LAC+USC Medical Center. It is a fairly large hospital located near downtown L.A.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do the following: file medical correspondence, answer phones, deliver charts, and maintain files.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I get 24 hours of vacation time

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
You are constantly working with Doctors, nurses, and other office clerks. The down side is there are some lazy people like every job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Prepare work to be filed. (Hole punch and seperate)
8am to 9am Begin filing medical correspondence. a stack of 900 should take about 5 hours, but I can do it in 3.
9am to 10am File
10am to 11am File
11am to 12pm Answer phones, take down chart request, locate medical record, track it out in the computer system, and place it in the delivery pile.
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Answer phones, take down chart request, locate medical record, track it out in the computer system, and place it in the delivery pile.
2pm to 3pm Answer phones, take down chart request, locate medical record, track it out in the computer system, and place it in the delivery pile.
3pm to 4pm Deliver charts until 3:30 and I am off
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Job Bulletin

What was the application process?
Paper application mailed in

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
It was a short interview, only wanted to know my schedule.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What is your school schedule like?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I was taught how to do new task before I did them on my own

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes just on basic procedure.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.It taught me how to behave in a professional environment

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Check out the Los Angeles County job bulletin post and search for similar jobs and apply because it may take awhile to get a response.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social Skills, you should be organize, detail orinted, and have patience.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No. It is self explainitory.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Bring your IPOD.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I want to go into criminology

What are your current career goals?
To work with at-risk youth

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Good to work your way through school, but not forever.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.11

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Mount St. Mary’s College Sociology/ B.A.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.