Claims Examiner (Female, Age 42) in Plano, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 42 who works as a Claims Examiner in Plano, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleClaims Examiner
Salary$54,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPlano, TX
Years Experience17 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Mutual Company, approximately 2,000 employees worldwide

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Examine Insurance claims and pay them

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Insurance, 401K, Pension

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with alot of people and I love it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. I like having my own office and being in a good environment

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amGet to work at 8:30.
9am to 10amWork
10am to 11amWork
11am to 12pmWork and lunch
12pm to 1pmback from lunch and back to work
1pm to 2pmWork
2pm to 3pmWork
3pm to 4pmWork
4pm to 5pmWork and go home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I interviewed with two different managers at the same time and was offered the job that very day.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
SO many. I really can’t remember. I was there for 3 hours.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I worked here years and had a lot of training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Started out as an assistant and worked my way up.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. My degree is in Marketing and I don’t do any marketing.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a college degree in Insurance or Busienss

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social, Organization and technical skills. My job requires all three every single day.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Start out working as an assistant, learn the ropes and then move your way up.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I will be here forever. It’s a great company.

What are your current career goals?
To do what I am doing forever.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Claims Examiner17 years52000Examine claims
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7U of PB.S. Marketing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.