Litigation Technologies Support Specialist (Female, Age 41) in Cherry Hill, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Litigation Technologies Support Specialist in Cherry Hill, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLitigation Technologies Support Specialist
Salary$32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCherry Hill, NY
Years Experience17 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a top 100 law firm in Southern NJ with approximately 500 employees. We have branches in NJ, PA, and NY.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
We handle all types of law. My department is responsible for any type of Document Productions, maintenance of online document databases, trial and pre trial preparations and many other tasks. My main responsibilities deal mostly with incoming eDiscovery from clients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vaca, 2 weeks sick, Amerihealth insurance, Prudential 401K w profit sharing.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do work with a group but most of my tasks are done independently. I love my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office, basement of an old 3 story building. It leaks, and there are no windows to open.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work, read new emails, prioritize tasks.
8am to 9amBrief meeting w/supervisor regarding preparation of an online repository regarding a new case assignment.
9am to 10amPreparation of online repository; uploading of documents to specific folders, deduplication of documents by viewing and comparing.
10am to 11amBrief meeting with Paralegal regarding setup of another case in an online repository. Backup of database files (daily task).
11am to 12pmSame as above
12pm to 1pmSelect documents responsive to a request, using program, export documents and copy to DVD for client.
1pm to 2pmLunch
2pm to 3pmContinue to select documents responsive to a request, using program, export documents and copy to DVD for client.
3pm to 4pmStaff meeting; group updates, jobs needing work, coworker delegation of jobs.
4pm to 5pmConfirm that today’s tasks are completed, submit billing via program, complete any last minute items.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I interviewed one time with our Human Resources manager and was offered a position. Originally, I began as a clerk but received a promotion to Litigation Support.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I had to take a typing test. It’s been 17 years so I can’t remember much.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they offered classes and whatever I needed to learn. I also work with 3 other peers who offer knowledge/help at any time I request their assistance.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, several different classes in computer programs used at my firm. Internal training on how to use our computer programs and network system.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes as I took many office occupation classes in high school, such as MSDOS, Stenography, typing and Shorthand

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not experience internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take any type of eDiscovery and legal information technology classes possible, read up online on the eDiscovery topic.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Definitely need organizational skills, technical skills should include programs such as MS Office, MS Access, Summation CT, Doculex.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No, much training is available.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to learn – this is a budding industry and is exploding at the moment.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, as I had planned to be an artist but didn’t want to starve.

What are your current career goals?
To continue in this growing field and maybe someday, hold a management position.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
If you like computers and love to learn, look for a Litigation Support entry level position.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Support6 mos30000Running paperwork back and forth between sales and shipping to limit customer discrepancies.
Prior Job 2Music Sales3 years20000Customer Service representative for a major music distributor.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:N/A

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.