Paraeducator (Female, Age 55) in simi valley, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 55 who works as a Paraeducator in simi valley, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleParaeducator
Salary$21,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
Locationsimi valley, NY
Years Experience17 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
elementary school k-6 special education

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
help teach the students, change diapers, feed students with special needs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
insurance bleu cross, summers off, 1 day a month off (sick leave)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes we all work as a team

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
school setting different stuff going on everyday

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 7
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amgetting ready for work, drop off grandson at friends house
8am to 9amgetting students off bus, help with getting students cleaned an changed, getting class ready for the day.
9am to 10amlanguage arts, assisting student with medical needs, snack time.
10am to 11amrecess, 10-10:20 ,changing students getting ready for lunch, medical procedure
11am to 12pmlunch. recess
12pm to 1pmreturning from lunch, getting students ready for afternoon,
1pm to 2pmart time, pe getting students ready to go home
2pm to 3pmtake kids to bus, put kids on bus, go home.
3pm to 4pmpick up grandson, run errands, go home
4pm to 5pmstart getting ready for dinner.
5pm to 6pmdinner for grandson, preparing dinner
6pm to 7pmeating dinner, waiting for hubby and son to come home.
7pm to 8pmclean up after dinner get ready for tomorrow.
8pm to 9pmrelax, down time get grandson ready for bed
9pm to 10pmwatch tv, get ready for bed
10pm to 11pmbed time
11pm to 12amsleep tight.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
talking with others

What was the application process?
submitted resume, oral test after written resume assuming you passed the written part

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
in the beginning i did but when i got to the first school i worked at (subbing) i was able to just walk into my position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
too long ago to remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
not at all you are just put into a classroom not knowing what kind of kids there might be.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no training (some childhood experience would be nice)

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
not at all not given any training

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
have lots of patience, love children

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
be able to lift have a great sense of humor.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
lots of patience.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes love the kids even though on certain days you go home exhausted

What are your current career goals?
nothing really at this point

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1paraeducator17 years21000helping students with special needs
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.