Chemical Review Manager (Female, Age 47) in Silver Spring, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 47 who works as a Chemical Review Manager in Silver Spring, MD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleChemical Review Manager
Salary$106,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSilver Spring, MD
Years Experience16 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
US Federal Government. I work at the EPA in the Office Of Pesticide Programs and regulate the usage of pesticide products. EPA has 20,000 people nation and worldwide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I manage the inflow and outflow of scientific studies that our in-house scientists review to evaluate whether the product is safe to use. I coordinate with the regulated industry about their products and request more or new data as needed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
5 weeks vacation/yr; 120 hrs SL a year + 10 Federal holidays and a gov’t retirement plan. I also get Blue Cross Blue Shield Insurance, tho there are 230 or so choices.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i love my job and I deal with people all day, co-workers, registrants and others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
yes we all work to reach a common goal of providing assistance and help to the regulated community.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amarrive at work and review emails and items in my in-box from overnight [west coast folks work later than EST]
8am to 9amFile away the reviews that are accepted and form piles of letters to be written for those not accepted.
9am to 10amReturn emails to those with questions. Also return calls.
10am to 11amPrepare letters to registrants for unacceptable studies.
11am to 12pmPut data in in-box into review for science team.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmGo thru charts to determine registrants who need to be called or emailed to get overdue data .
2pm to 3pmMake calls and send emails. Answer any other calls, inquiries.
3pm to 4pmUpdate tracking charts of my workload to ensure I am on track with the submissions and such.
4pm to 5pmMake lists of things to do tomorrow and any other issues needing resolution.
5pm to 6pmGo home
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Thru the EPA listings on a phone job line – internet opm.gov is the newer way.

What was the application process?
submit a 171 – application for Federal Job to the position number mentioned in the posting.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, they called me in and I spoke to the mgr hiring for the job. I have also moved around in my agency and have had multiple interviews with folks doing the work as well as the boss hiring me.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can’t remember but I bet they asked what skills I can bring to the workplace and why I chose that field.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was prepared and having the mentor made all the difference.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There is always more training to do the work here, but for my current job I had a one-on-one mentor and I have subsequently mentored many others after me. It was very helpful to go thru the work piece by piece and learn the ropes as the work came in. It’s the best way, I think.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had a bachelors in geology degree, and a masters in environmental science. I had learned the various EPA regualtions and to put them to work was fascinating.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I didn’t have an internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Complete college in a scientific field. Where I work at EPA you need a science degree and perhaps some policy. I also went to grad school and got a master’s in environmental science.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
My job requires social skills, like ability to communicate verbally and in writing. Also negotiating skills are helpful. Having tact is a must as I am required to work with the regulated community and convince them to submit required items to stay in business. You’d think they’d want to comply but it’s just not that easy.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes – a bachelors and a Masters degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Got to college, consider grad school and try to get a chance to do a stay in school program. Colleges team up with the Federal Gov’t to ascertain postitions for summer and during the semester to “try out” jobs in fields before they graduate to a) get a foot in the door, b) decide if they like the work and c) to get the folks in the desired office to know you. We hired many stay-in-schools here in DC and it’s worked out well.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Sure I wanted to do something to make a difference and I know I do.

What are your current career goals?
I love what I do and have no need to change. if I were to get bored i can switch to organic pesticides, which is my current interest.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Folks can call or email me anytime to ask about my work. I love my agency and I love who and what I work for.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1UST Coordinator5 mo35000Coordinator of the Underground Storage Tank program.
Prior Job 2Science reviewer4 yrs25000Reviewed pesticide studies for accuracy for EPA pesticide program,

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75SUNY OneontaGeology – BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.75GWU – GSASEnvironmental Science

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.