Customer Relationship Manager Ii (Female, Age 38) in greensboro, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Customer Relationship Manager Ii in greensboro, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCustomer Relationship Manager Ii
Salary$48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week44
Company Size(not answered)
Locationgreensboro, NC
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Bank of America- do i need to say anymore? bank, I think we’re probably down to about 200,000 – 250,000 employees at this point after many years of large layoffs (6 years ago we were 350,000 strong)

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
assisting in loan modifications, short sales, deed in lieu of foreclosures- speaking with customers & advise of their best options, do financial interviews

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, vision, dental, medical, 3 weeks vacation, 10 sick days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes- like the teamwork and enjoy answering questions for them due to my senior level training I’ve received there.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
work in a call center, wish i worked somewhere smaller & more intimate, think would be able to build more close relationships in a smaller setting

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet 6 years ago- but changed positions there 16 months ago to this new role

What was the application process?
online application, resume & cover letter

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, only 1 interview but 2 people in the interview asking me questions for 30-45 minutes

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
was there ever a time when someone took your advice that ended positively?, what trait would you bring to this position that makes you special?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no- the trainer was training us as her last class before she moved into another position with the bank so it was rushed, alot of joking around & extra breaks so the time given-which really should have been three weeks- could have been used much more productively if the trainer had actually wanted to teach us

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
2 weeks in a training room at the call center- class was about 30 people but only 1 trainer…..we read through a training manual, took tests on the computer, completed spoken walked through “playing around” on fake accounts to see what & where everything was on the system, role played phone calls with each other

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no- this job has little if anything to do with educational background. you need to listen to people & be able to retain the information & react to the situation they’ve told you about

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
read up online about the HAMP program, the DOJ settlements, understand from comments online the different things homeowners are going through financially or with the level of loss they’ve taken in their home losing equity

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
be able to be empathetic- these people are going through all kinds of difficult financial situations, a good listener- customer’s who are going through a difficult time will become upset if they have to repeat themselves due to you not listening, reasonable computer skills since you will be on one all day running 10+ systems/programs throughout the day

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
training yes……but education-no-on the job training is all you need-school can’t teach you that

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
make sure they are mentally sound-if you take this job home with you it can cause mental distress after hearing all of the situations people are going through

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
it’s something i was pushed into which was initially a miserable job but has become okay now that workloads have lessened…..i see staying with the bank to finish out my career & retire with them but not staying in my particular field within the bank for more than a couple more years- it is just an exhausting job

What are your current career goals?
to work in some sort of writing capacity- possibly for our legal department which consists of employees with training but that are not lawyers

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nothing i can think of off the top of my head

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1manager5 years32000ran indoor storage place- showed & rented the units- going over rental agreements
Prior Job 2film processing9 years27000poster printing, photo to negative, billing

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.