Office Manager (Female, Age 44) in mio, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 44 who works as a Office Manager in mio, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$120,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
Locationmio, MI
Years Experience15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Build houses,additions,decks small to big jobs. Residential area & commercial

Small Crew approx 8 – 12 people

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do the advertising,the daily paperwork,pay the bills,payroll, set yp the new jobs,make sure the guy\’s have everything they need on the job,make sure we have all the correct permit\’s,answering the phone,making any call\’s that need be & anything else that happens to come up.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
na

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a lot of different kinds of people daily & I think that is the bedt part of my job.You don’t know who you will meet from day to day & the things you can learn,I wouldn’t trade it for nothing.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have a small office but it is just right for me. I am not always in there I have lots of earns so it’s all good.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amopen the office.Start answering phones & making the calls.Check with the guy’s to make sure they don’t need anything.See what they are working on.
10am to 11amGo to the bank & the post office. This takes a while.

Go back to the office & figure out where to run the ads for a fews weeks,but I have to make sure to run it with a paper that will help get more work for here if possible.They don’t mind travel if the money is right.

11am to 12pmI have to make up 2-4 ad’s that will have people callus & not the other 50 builders running ads in the same papers. then I need to meet with 2 different people in sale’s now that I know which 2 papers i want to run ads in.these 2 papers cover twice the area as the other local papers & this way I don’t have to run them as long.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmback in the office. Meeting with 2 new customers. have to see what they are looking to do & set it up with the boss. Then I have to run back to the county building to straighten up 2 permits so we don’t get fined for their mistake.
2pm to 3pmI have to do the books, pay some bills & do payroll.
3pm to 4pmNow I spend the next 2-3 hours looking for better prices on material. I go threw all sales ads we get then I go online to see what other deals I can get.If we have a few jobs I can look to buy volume.
4pm to 5pmWhen I buy volume I can get such a great price,sometimes. There has been only one time I couldnt get a better deal buying big.
5pm to 6pmNow I clean the office up make sure everything is put away lock the door & go home until I do this all over again tommarow.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was working for a friend & I really liked it so i went to school n still worked for him.

What was the application process?
was working there befoer I knew it was something i wanted to do.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No, Once I got done with school, the lady that was heading the office left so I just got promoted within.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
He really just wanted to make sure I would want to stay for a while.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I worked here before I knew I wanted to do this kind of work.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
On the job. I did work a few places before this one. All office work, then I went back & got my Associates

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
The job made me want to go back to school.So I could take the class’es I should have to be able to do a Great job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, it was what made me make up my mind this was what I wanted to do with my life.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to school & take a bussiness degree & take classes that help you deal with people how to talk them down without pushing them over the edge.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
peoples skills,accounting,bookepping,& something in advertising.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
An associate would be good,not necessary but helpful.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work with someone first to make sure you will really like it befoer putting in all the time.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I am very happy right where I am. My boss is really good to me. In fact I don’t really see him to much at all.That is a good thing he tells me. That means I am doing my jog & doing it well.

What are your current career goals?
I am happy right here. I don’t see myself going anywhere anytime soon.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just that it is a great job but make sure this is what you want to do,if not you will not be happy & that means you will be miserable.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1office manager15yrs60000advertising,paying bills,ordering material,payroll, running the office
Prior Job 2asst.mgr4yrs9.00hrordering,stocking shelves,doing scheduling & running register

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7BakerAssociates
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.