Regional Manager (Male, Age 45) in san tan valley, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 45 who works as a Regional Manager in san tan valley, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Regional Manager
Salary $84,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location san tan valley, NY
Years Experience 15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
700m janitorial company with nationwide operations in 100K sq. ft buildings, Class A. Three divisions, commercial, nuclear, transportation

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Overall responsibility for all HR related matters for 9 states and 4 direct reports.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 7 sick days, 3 personal, 6 holidays, 401(k) and all major insurance benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love the personal interaction with employees and coworkers laterally and up and down the organization

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Regional office in AZ. Like, very well known, a lot of walk in traffic. Dislike, older building that needs revamping

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am reading Emails and responding
8am to 9am unemployment claims and verifications of employment. setting deadlines and project details with direct reports. Working closely with all departments.
9am to 10am Meetings with operations to discuss staffing needs. Developing plans to staff accordingly. Working with managers subordinates to develop performance plans
10am to 11am recruiting and following up on resumes. Developing plans to staff accordingly. Working with managers subordinates to develop performance plans
11am to 12pm working with inside staff to keep everyone on the same project deadlines. Meeting with operations staff to discuss project details
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm helping Risk & safety department. Meeting with safety managers to discuss financial impacts of incidents and meting out responsibilities to operational staff
2pm to 3pm helping risk & safety departmnet.Meeting with safety managers to discuss financial impacts of incidents and meting out responsibilities to operational staff
3pm to 4pm HR training and orientations. Meeting with new applicants to work with them to develop training and new employee guidelines
4pm to 5pm following up on emails and project deadlines. Working on sevela projects with long term guidelines and deadlines./
5pm to 6pm driving home
6pm to 7pm dinner, checking late emails from different time zone divisions
7pm to 8pm TV
8pm to 9pm TV
9pm to 10pm finishing any computerized work, excel spreadsheets etc
10pm to 11pm sleep
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
headhunted

What was the application process?
submit resume, meet for interviews , paper application, assessment training

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. 4 interviews from Regional Manager to VP, to VP of HR, then division pressident. All individual interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why do I want to do this?

What makes me a better candidate?

What are my goals short and long term?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, intense training for the first 3 weeks, then travel to other locations of responsibility

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, through SHRM and HCI to get accreditation for SPHR

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, Business and Accoutning degree

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No interning

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Yes, most definitely if you have the people personality and enjoy working for work itself, and not for the money

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Definite social skills, knowledge of local, state and federal laws, employment law knowledge

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Bachelor’s degree at the least

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Become an HR generalist, then see if you enjoy the constant working with people

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I have always loved Hr and my career path includes Dirctor level responsibilities, then moving to VP of HR

What are your current career goals?
Please see above

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just that for the right person, HR is a deeply rewarding field involving helping people of all levels within the organization

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Reg. Mgr HR 12 yrs 84000 All HR responsibility for 9 states and 4 direct reports
Prior Job 2 Reg. HR Mgr 8 yrs 78000 HR responsibiltiy for unions and non unions for 4 states with 15 direct reports in the marine transportation field

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2 Flagler Acctg / Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.