Commercial Property Claims Representative (Male, Age 40) in Pleasant Hill, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 40 who works as a Commercial Property Claims Representative in Pleasant Hill, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCommercial Property Claims Representative
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPleasant Hill, NY
Years Experience15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
large property and casualty insurer.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Investigation, determine coverage and damages for property claims submitted against commercial property policies

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Pension, 401k, 6weeks vacation, medical, life, vision, disability

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
average compensation

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, on a team of terrific co workers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office, is nice, modern, clean, good facilties, covered parking

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amarrive, get computer on, check emails. prepare schedule for the day
8am to 9amReview mail that has come in. Work pending mail down preparing estimates of damages and how much to pay on certain claims.
9am to 10amCall insured’s

1. settle claims

2. follow ups to check on the status of pending mail

10am to 11amReview new claims received for the morning, Set them on our system and make calls out on those claims.
11am to 12pmlunch
12pm to 1pmContinue to monitor new mail, return voicemails, call on any new claims
1pm to 2pmtake a break, head to the wellness center for a break
2pm to 3pmContinue to monitor new mail, return voicemails, call on any new claims
3pm to 4pmContinue to monitor new mail, return voicemails, call on any new claims
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Well known local company

What was the application process?
Application and resume,

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, one interview. standard interview questions (tell us one success and one failure etc). turned interview into more casual conversation.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
see above

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, much on site training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
contstruction, people skills, computer skills

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, basic learning skills

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply at an insurance company. Have a background in some construction work. Know how to deal with people and work efficiently

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Construction, computer, communication

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
see above

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, good stable job, plenty of work, little to no chance of losing job

What are your current career goals?
management in distant future

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
is a good stable job

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Personal Proprty Adjuster10 years50000handled property claims for Personal lines poliies
Prior Job 2assistant mgr2 years18000assistant shift manager with grocery store

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Iowa State UniversityExercise Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.