Registered Nurse (Female, Age 41) in KENNEWICK, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Registered Nurse in KENNEWICK, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Registered Nurse
Salary $68,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location KENNEWICK, WA
Years Experience 15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a hospital based home health service that serves the local counties for care. They employee approximately 300-400 people and it is a moderate sized hospital in an urban area of Washington State.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work for a hospital based home health service where I provide care to the very young ( infants ) to the very aged. I do wound care, IV’s, injections and other nursing duties as asigned. I teach care and medication management as well as healthy lifestyle.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, vision, 401k,medical savings, disability, life and other perks as well.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel very priviledged and they pay appropriately for experience.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work daily with multiple people at the office as well as interact with people in their homes. This is a Great Job. Sometimes there are clashes of personality, but very rarely.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at the office in the morning and gather supplies. Then I go on a route depending on the patients to be seen that day. I love the independence and ability to manage my own time.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 1
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Begin my day by going to the office to find out which patients are scheduled to see that day. Gather charts, make phone calls to set up meeting times in their homes. Gather needed supplies and head out the door with my beeper.
8am to 9am See scheduled patients: wound care, ostomy care(care of a bag on the outside of the stomach that reroutes the intestine. This is where feces goes). Clean and replace pouch and backing and instruct patient in the procedure so they can do it for me next time I visit.
9am to 10am Next Patient: IV anministration of antibiotics through a PICC line ( periperal or on your arm, inserted central line) Monitor patient as IV goes in, change IV dressing using sterile technique. put supplies away.
10am to 11am next patient: Congestive heart failure is a condition where the heart does not pump as effectively, I see this person to take a physical assesment which includes blood pressure, pulse, tempature and respirations. I listen to heart and lungs, and do an overall check of body systems. We then weigh patient and document findings. Teaching about new or changed medications and a blood draw for lab work. Then I take specimen to lab.
11am to 12pm Lunch
12pm to 1pm Next patient: Burn Care of a victim in an accident with a propane tank, this involves soaking off the old dressing and reapplying a new one. the a tight stretchy material over all this to keep it tight and from swelling.
1pm to 2pm Next patient: Baby in phototherapy for jaundice which is a oondition that newborns sometimes get when they can’t rid their system of the broken down red cells as their liver isn’t quite mature enough. Light breaks down the bilirubin and it is excreted in the stool. I do a heel stick to get a blood sample. Look over the charting that mom has done regarding number of diapers, eating and activity level of the infant. I do a physical assessment of the baby and then answer any questions the mom or dad might have and then take the specimen to the lab.
2pm to 3pm Back to the office to chart and make follow-up phone calls. Reports to doctors on their patients, retrieving lab reasults and following up with new order.
3pm to 4pm Take any calls of any needed extra visits until 4:30
4pm to 5pm go home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found this job while in nursing school, I applied at the hospital to work as an LPN and continued thru school to finish my RN and continued on with this hospital ever since, just moving to the home health department.

What was the application process?
Paper application was the standard at that time. But now they accept applications over the internet.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
The interview process included the Human Resources manager and the Nurse Manager. They asked me about my schooling and any prior experience or volunteering I had done in the past. A criminal background check is mandatory along with fingerprinting as you care for people who are fragile and at risk. The interview was pleasant and easy going.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Where did you go to school? What prior experience have you had? What is your strengths?, weaknesses? Are you flexible with scheduling? days, evenings, nights, weekends and on-call duty?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they have a very detailed plan with check marks to make sure you get all the info needed before you are taken off the probationary list and placed as a reagular employee.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was enrolled in a community college for Nursing. I recieved an AA degree. It required an application to the nursing program, a 2.0 or above GPA. Classes were standard for the first year with english, math and the other necessary courses and the next two years were in the Nursing program itself which included one summer quarter and clinical, which is study at the respective community hospitals where you work under the supervision of the instructor and the other RN’s to do duties as assigned with out pay. After schooling, I was trained at the hospital for two weeks orientation. It included viewing the policy and procedure manuals, and other necessary paperwork and then I followed an experienced RN around as she showed me where things were located, how to chart and how to give report to the next shift

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes!! My school did an excellent job in preparing me. Plenty of clinical experience and lots of support from the instructors. They even provide recomendations for you when you need references.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Absolutely, having had school, volunteer and previous experience in medical field work before really helped me feel comfortable during school, training and on the job.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Usually a person has graduated from an accredited college with a nursing degree. Either RN or LPN. Most home health agencies will require one year of experience working in a hospital first. As you are basically on your own while with patients in their home and experience counts. You will need a current CPR card certification.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are a must as you will interact with just about every personality type. You will need the ability to remain calm in emergency situations and be organized efficient and have great technical and sterile skills to perform your job. You will need the ability to teach others how to do their own care. Writing messages or reminders, calling, reporting in written and verbal communcations is necessary.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutely a 2 year degree. But I would recomend a 4 year degree if possible.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell them to take their school work very seriously, study science, math, english, chemistry and biology. Volunteer at your local hospital to get a good idea of the kind of things nurses do, ask if you can job shadow someone for a day.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
The healthcare field is always where my heart lies. I have always had the ability to stay calm, make people comfortable and tell them the truth.

What are your current career goals?
My current goals are to continue to get more accreditations. Right now I am credentialed in Gerenteroligcal nursing (elderly). I would like to get credential in IV and PICC lines next.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nursing is very rewarding. It takes a lot of mental acuity and prompt action at times. I love what I do, It makes me happy. I guess you should always strive to do something that makes you happy, if it doesn’t you’ll be miserable.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 RN 15 years 68000 Care of patients in their home. IV’s, wound care, diabetic care, injections, blood tests, basic vital signs, physical assessments.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 Columbia Basin Community College Nursing AA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.