Legal Secretary (Female, Age 60) in Bolingbrook, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 60 who works as a Legal Secretary in Bolingbrook, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLegal Secretary
Salary$55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBolingbrook, IL
Years Experience15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Provides legal services to business

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Preparing legal documents, travel arrangements, billing, filing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Insurance, vacation, personal/sick days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, three other secretaries, office administrator and the attorneys in the office

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 1
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommuted to work, part way.
8am to 9amBetween these hours I was still on my way to work.
9am to 10amArrived at the office at 9:00 a.m., researched airline travel schedules on different airlines for one of my bosses. Had one telephone call to a court reporter to confirm up a deposition for today. Registered visitors for the day through our building’s online security system.
10am to 11amMade photocopies of a stack of documents. Tried to troubleshoot a laptop that stopped working. Finally determined it was the power cord. Telephone call to physician’s office regarding obtaining bills for a client.
11am to 12pmMade more photocopies for a deposition taking place today.
12pm to 1pmHad switchboard duty. Got lunch for a partner.
1pm to 2pmLunch
2pm to 3pmPulled up documents from our document management system for filing. Filing. PUt together a pleading index.
3pm to 4pmContinued working on pleading index, watered plants in the office.
4pm to 5pmMade airline and car reservations online through United and Hertz. Telephone call to court reporter’s office to get name of court reporter for deposition tomorrow. Authorized tomorrows visitors through on line registration system for building. Cleaned my desk, took apart my “mouse” and cleaned it. Telephone call with a boss that is out of town regarding case up for conference that he is going to miss. Transferred him to another attorney to handle.
5pm to 6pmLeft for day and went home.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through an employment agency.

What was the application process?
Submitted a resume and they sent me on the interview without even testing me.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed twice, once with the office administrator and once with a partner. I did not take any additional tests. I did not want the job but when it was offered to me I took because the market was bad. I’m still trying to get out.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
There is no real preparation needed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Just good office/technical skills were required.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Make sure your word processing skills are outstanding.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good word processing skills, organizational skills, skills in Excel and PowerPoint helpful also.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Not to do it! Find another field. Law offices are not a nice place to work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I would never do this again.

What are your current career goals?
I have no further career goals since I will retire in about six years.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Don’t go into law!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Marketing Coordinator3 years48000Coordinated marketing efforts for this law firm. Did press releases, newsletters, web site updates.
Prior Job 2Marketing Assistant4 years47000Worked in the marketing dept. of an international law firm. Did press releases, graphic work, newsletters, database entries.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.-

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.