Finance Analyst 

(Female, Age 23) from Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Finance Analyst in Brooklyn, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Finance Analyst
Salary $80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location Brooklyn, NY
Years Experience 15 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a highly diversified financial services company with a presence in more than 100 countries and over 300,000 employees. It provides banking services as well as investment banking services.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I report revenues and expenses for my department on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. I provide daily estimates of what revenues should be and commentary for any variances to forecast.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
17 vacation days, 9 sick days, empire blue cross blue shield, 401K, roth ira

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others daily. I enjoy it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Online Application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
One round of interviews with three managers.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My colleagues showed me how to do what I needed to do.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I had to learn how to use all of the finance programs on the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend maintaining a very high gpa and applying online for the undergraduate recruitment programs of the larger well known financial services companies.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are necessary to interact with colleagues as well as clients. Financial skills are important to report the numbers.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
College Education

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take college seriously. Apply yourself, get good grades and do a lot of research to find the right company to work for.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I am changing careers to teaching.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to become a math teacher.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:0.98

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3 Columbia University BA in Economics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.