Scientist (Male, Age 44) in Galveston, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 44 who works as a Scientist in Galveston, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Scientist
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Galveston, TX
Years Experience 14 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am working at University of Texas Medical Branch, a Health Sciences Center at Galveston. It employee numbers are 13,000.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Supervising the research progress at research lab

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health Insurance and Retirement Plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am On the way to work
8am to 9am Start to work
9am to 10am continue to work
10am to 11am continue to work
11am to 12pm continue to work
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm start to work
2pm to 3pm continue to work
3pm to 4pm continue to work
4pm to 5pm continue to work
5pm to 6pm On the way to go home
6pm to 7pm prepare dinner
7pm to 8pm dinner time
8pm to 9pm Watching TV
9pm to 10pm Go to bed to sleep
10pm to 11pm sleep
11pm to 12am Sleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral.

What was the application process?
Resume, paper application to HR department, and interviewing.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. The Department Chairman and five other professors interviewed me.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My past research experience and technical skills

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I have enough starting money and facilities to do my job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I have a PhD degree and 4 years postdoctoral training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
None

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I will do.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Mostly is technical skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, at least Ph.D level.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Must have postdoctoral experiences.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes

What are your current career goals?
To get tenured from this instution

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
My job is very challenging

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7 UT at Austin Biology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8 UT Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Pharmacology

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.