Office Assistant 3 (Female, Age 46) in Fairfield, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 46 who works as a Office Assistant 3 in Fairfield, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Assistant 3
Salary$52,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFairfield, CA
Years Experience14 Years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
County Sheriff

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide Clerical support to the Training Manager

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Dental, Vision, Life Insurance, Retirement, Deferred Compensation, Holidays, Sick Leave, Etc

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do work with others on a daily basis, I do like it, tho at times I can do without the distractions.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGetting Ready For Work
8am to 9amArrived at work at 0800 hours. Log into computer, check emails and postings. Check itinerary of scheduled tasks, voicemails. Discuss any issues for the day with supervisor. Answer phone calls
9am to 10amCheck for mail in the mailroom. Distribute mail, Run training reports for Supervisor. Research training on internet, data entry, Answer phone calls
10am to 11amSchedule Flights, reserve lodging, rental car for upcoming training. Data Entry, Filing, Fax registration applications, Answer phone calls
11am to 12pmRetrieve authorized signatures to submit applications for certificates in regards to Law Enforcement requirement. Answer phone calls Lunch at 1130 hrs
12pm to 1pm1230 hrs, back from lunch. Calculate and print out vendor claim forms to submit to the Auditor to process payments for registrations, hotels, etc. Retrieve authorized signatures. Answer phone calls
1pm to 2pmRun reports for end of year statistics for Supervisor calculating hours of training and total of employees trained during fiscal year. Answer phone calls
2pm to 3pmGo across the street to Government Center, retrieve per diem checks from Auditors Office & drop off vendor claim forms. Check Human Resources for inter-office mail
3pm to 4pmPull employee personnel files and make copies of evaluations for Correctional Sergeant. Filing, Answer Phone Calls
4pm to 5pmMeeting with upper Management & background investigators in regards to mandated training requirements
5pm to 6pmOff Duty at 1700 hrs (5pm)
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Applied at Human Resource Dept for the County

What was the application process?
Submit Application w/Resume, Take Clerical Test, Oral Interview, Background Investigated, Hiring Interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, Oral Interview with a panel of (2), Interview with a Background Investigator, after Background was completed, a Hiring Interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Clerical Skills, Computer Skills, Available to work shifts, weekends, holidays.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, their intention was to have 2 weeks of hands on training, it turned into only 2 days.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Training consisted of no more than a few days of the basics of the job description. The rest was trial & error

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I took typing & business courses in High School

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No Internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
3 years clerical experience, Have a high school diploma or GED, , no arrest record

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
computer literate, organization, professionalism, confidentiality

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
High School Diploma or GED

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prompt, organized, and pay attention to detail

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, clerical work is what I like to do

What are your current career goals?
I have reached my career goals, I am happy with what I am doing

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Private Industry has it’s great perks, but a government job is more secure as far as wages, benefits & retirement

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Assistant 314 years52,000 per yearClerical Support to the Training Manager
Prior Job 2Personnel Assistant9 Years14,000 per yearHiring, training, payroll, upkeep of Personnel Records

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.