Office Manager (Female, Age 40) in Kinder, LA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Office Manager in Kinder, LA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationKinder, LA
Years Experience14 Years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a Industrial Maintenance Company. We employ around 5000 permanent workers at the present.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do hourly and salary payroll. I also bill the client for hourly and salary personnel. I also do budget estimates and cost tracking.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Salary bonuses, insurance, company matches 401k contributions

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I share an office with a clerk that I supervise. I like this because I can keep an eye on her and make sure that she meets all deadlines.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My office is located in an industrial plant. It is in the middle of the plant. There is a lot of traffic in and out of my office. I would like to be in a more isolated location because of the many distracitons.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCheck email and voice mail. Return calls and or email. Report any employees that have called in (missing work) that day to the Supervisors. If employees will be out for 3 or more days, check if eligible for Family Medical Leave Act. Verify this information with corporate office. If extra employees are needed for any new projects, submit labor requirements to personnel office. Verify with hr that employees will be reporting to job site on time.
8am to 9amPrepare previous days payroll. Calculate employees hours. Balance gate logs to time sheets. Make any corrections noticed at this point. Close any work requests that time will no longer be charged to. Call vendors if there any outstanding material or equipments bills.
9am to 10amMorning break 9:00 to 9:15. Enter payroll time for hourly employees. Manually key in hourly employees time into JD Edwards. Make sure all janitors are on site and at appropriate station.
10am to 11amEnter time for salary employees. If running low on office supplies, order office supplies as needed from our supplier. Make sure copier, printers and fax machine have toner, order toner if running low. Schedule copier maintenance.
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmRun payroll reports to balance timesheets and gate logs against payroll reports. Make any final corrections if needed. Verify with Supervisors if any questions arise about employees time.
1pm to 2pmAfternoon break 1:30 to 1:45. Prepare budget reports for cost tracking. Post time to general ledger. Run reports for all areas of plant. Make copies of reports for dsitribution.
2pm to 3pmEnter new work requests and budgets for new work orders. Write any requisitions for any material or equipment needed. Verify with Purchasing agent if material and equipment will be delivered or will call.

Go home at 3.

3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Answered an ad in the newspaper

What was the application process?
submitted resume, paper application, called in for 2 interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to interview twice. Once with the person that went over the resumes and then at the plant I would be working at. They were both individual interviews.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
It was 14 years ago. The only question that sticks out is if I would like to work in this environment.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, by hands on training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Just learning the payroll software that the company uses.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I have an accounting degree and this is used daily.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
An accounting degree is required. You also have to pass a credit check and a background check. I would recommend starting out as a clerk and take night classes in accounting.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Accounting skills are required. You should also be trained in Microsoft Office and ten key. You must possess strong organization skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
4 year accounting degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It is a stressful job but you are treated fairly. I would suggest starting out as a clerk to see if the next levels at the company are anything that you would like.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I am making a career with my employer.

What are your current career goals?
To stay with my same company

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Account Manager2 years25000Handling accounts of big clients.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3McNeeseAccounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.