Special Education Teacher (Female, Age 38) in Marianna, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Special Education Teacher in Marianna, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Special Education Teacher
Salary $41,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Marianna, FL
Years Experience 14 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I teach for the Jackson County School Board. I am employed with our Adult Education Center. I work for an adult day treatment center for adults with schizophrenia and other serious mental conditions.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide social rehabilitation lessons to my students, social skills, budgeting, appropriate relationships, social security disability laws, and all other forms to include job applications, etc. I assist the students with any problems they are having, and offer advice and support to all of them.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
One sick leave day a month, BCBS health

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under. We are the lowest paid county in the state of Fl. Well under state and national average.They only pay us ONCE a month, which is not easy to deal with when it comes to budgeting.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I arrive at my adult education office at 7:30 and sign in, check my teacher mailbox, see if I have any messages. I then leave and go to my work assignment classroom about a mile away. My students suffer from schizophrenia, I am a special education teacher. I wait outside to monitor them getting off their buses. This is usually done by 8:00 am.
8am to 9am We begin working in our stations. I am currently working on laptop skills, specifically games dealing with money. I am teaching the students about managing a budget. We used fake money to match amounts shown on the screens of the laptop. We then marked prices on items for our yard sale today. We are raising money to take a field trip.
9am to 10am We brought all of our yard sale items outside, set them up on the tables, and stand in different positions around the area of our yard sales, as the students were going to be “salesmen”. I reviewed the socially appropriate conduct rules with the students, and reminded them to use good manners with the customers. We then began to receive customers, and got very busy.
10am to 11am We sold T.V.’s, desks, file cabinets, clothes, etc. The students monitored our cash drawer and when items were sold, I assisted them with giving the right amount of change to the customers. Around 10:45, I began grilling hotdogs outside for the students, as I was surprising them with a picnic for their hard work.
11am to 12pm The students sat on picnic tables, and we enjoyed our lunch. After this, the students cleaned up their areas, I became “salesman” while they ate. The students then collected the items we had left from the yard sale, and began taking them back into the classroom. It was a short yard sale, as we were mainly selling to the employees in the buildings surrounding our classroom, and these were our customers.

12pm to 1pm We began to sort the remaining clothes into sizes, I allowed the students to each pick five items to take home free for working so hard. I then had them draw a name of another student in our class, and pick an item that they thought was appropriate for that student. (practicing social skills and peer relationships). They then presented the item to the student they chose, and judge their reaction through oral interviews.
1pm to 2pm I began our social rehab lesson for the day. We reviewed the correct usage of prescription medication, focusing on sticking to the method of using the Sunday through Saturday pop open pill organizers to make sure that they were taking their prescriptions appropriately. We completed a worksheet reviewing our lesson after this.
2pm to 3pm The students turned in their work, I began grading it while they had free computer time. Around 2:30, the students competed their classroom chore (each has individual chore assigned), such as changing trash, pushing in chairs, sweeping floor, etc.
3pm to 4pm The students gathered their personal items, jackets, etc. We then went outside, waited for their buses to arrive. I then monitored the boarding of the buses, and came back inside my classroom. I gathered my lesson plans, locked up my classroom, and headed to our main adult education center, and signed out at 3:15. I then left to pick my son up from his school, and we came home.
4pm to 5pm Off work
5pm to 6pm Off work
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.