Pharmacy Technician (Female, Age 32) in roseville, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Pharmacy Technician in roseville, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Pharmacy Technician
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 32
Company Size (not answered)
Location roseville, MI
Years Experience 14 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A well respected and often used hospital in our general area.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Assisting pharmacist with daily activities such as keying prescriptions into computer, counting medication, inventory management, verifying customers insurance, customer service, and answering multi-line telephone.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Healt coverage and dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes i work with other daily, I love the people i work with. I dislike the attitude you sometimes get from customers when something has gone wrong and it’s not your fault

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Working in the field, I like my job as I love my coworkers and supervisors as well as i get to help the public

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, i had 2 interviews one with the staff pharmacist and one with the regional pharmacy manager. Had to take a test about pharmacy knowledge and pass it, as well as be state certified.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was already prepared

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes being certified as a technician helped me because i knew the pharmacy knowledge.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Do online research for the position as well as having on the job training.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Need orgaization skills as wells as social skills, you need to be organized person so that you don’t make errors and social skills you need to be able to handle even the work customers

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you have plenty of patience.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I plan on retiring from the hospital when I’m older, wouldnt switch fields at atll.

What are your current career goals?
To retire when I’m able to from this specific hospital.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love my job, it’s a great field for anyone that wants to help the public.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 lead pharmacy technican 2yrs 18000 Assisted pharmacist with daily activities such as keying prescriptions into computer, counting medication, inventory management, verifying customers insurance, preparing co-workers weekly schedule, customer service, and answering multi-line telephone.
Prior Job 2 Senior Pharmacy Tech 5yrs 25000 Daily activities included keying prescriptions into computer, counting medication, inventory management, verifying customers insurance, filing insurance forms, preparing co-workers weekly schedule, customer service, answering multi-line telephone, payroll, making collection calls, bookkeeping, daily invoices, accounts payable and receivable.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.8 Macomb community college associates degree business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.