Intercompany Accountant (Male, Age 24) in Flushing, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Intercompany Accountant in Flushing, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleIntercompany Accountant
Salary$44,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFlushing, NY
Years Experience14 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Holding Company for Advertising Firms, 33,000 People

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Bank Reconciliations, Reconcile Intercompany Accounts and Out of Balances, Record Journal Entries

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health, Dental, Sight

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I interact with co-workers and other agencies, i love the people I work with and the work that I am doing

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office – convenient location, good amenities

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submitted resume to HR

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes – 2 HR over-the-phone interiews, in person interview with manager and director

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
1. why do you want this job. 2. what do you know about the company 3. how do you do a bank reconciliation 4. what would people who know you say about you?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they helped explain what I needed to know till I was comfortable

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I am currently enrolled in a graduate program which is preparing me

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Contact different accounting agencies, there are more than enough accounting jobs to go around

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
accounting degree, be resourceful, good grades

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Ask a lot of questions, study for the CPA earlier rather than later, work hard

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I hope to continue in accounting and this company is really helping me to start out

What are your current career goals?
CPA,Senior Accountant, Manager, Director

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Intercompany Accountant14 months45000Complete JE’s, Bank Reconciliations, Balance Intercompany Out of Balances
Prior Job 2Assistant to President1 year35000Assist president with daily importing activities

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7Yeshiva UniversityEconomics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.7St Johns UniversityAccounting

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.