Corrections Officer (Female, Age 39) in Payson, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Corrections Officer in Payson, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Corrections Officer
Salary $43,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Payson, NY
Years Experience 13 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for my local county sheriff’s department, in the jail supervising inmates.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Overseeing inmates housing conditions and living areas, managing training,school and work for the inmates, transporting to and from court. Maintaining safety and security of the institution and our community.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
We get 4 hours of sick leave, bi-weekly, 401K, health insurance, eye care and dental, plus a healthy living program.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
For our state we are just below average on pay.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
You have to love working with people in this line of work. 12 hours a day you will be living with inmates in a correctional facility. Sometimes you see inmates more than you see your family.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a jail. We house low-security to high risk inmates. Some are in open areas walking around with you as an oficer with nothing between you and them. In other areas we have cell doors as you would imagine.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 8

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
In my local paper.

What was the application process?
Submit resume, take a written test, take a physical test, have a mental evaluation, have a physical evaluation, an oral interview in front of a panel.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
At the county facility I work at, we had an oral interview. It consisted of a panel of 4 officers (3 Sergeants and 1 Line-Staff Officer) They all asked 2 questions and left the time up to you on how you would respond. This is standard for promotions as well.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What type of Officer are you (because I came from another facility), what were your greatest accomplishments at the other facility, what are your weaknesses, how do you handle a stressful situation, tell me about a situation of great stress and how you handles it and a few otheres.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely. All training were simulated to prepare you for daily and unexpected situations in a jail or prison setting. Whether it be verbal commands or physical restraints.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, training in each state varies. In Utah you get anywhere from 13-15 weeks before becoming a corrections officer.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, your education(high school) really does not apply. This is more based on your ability to handle real live situations on the spot. Your natural reaction and responses.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start with your state prison system. They are usually short on staff and willing to pay for your training. Otherwise, any local law-enforcement agency should be able to point you in the right direction.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Ability to work with a diverse group of people and the ability to manage them as a group.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not really, a high-school graduate can do this,

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Maintain your training. Make it a priority. We only get 40 hours a year of extra training and it is really important to stay in great shape. Don’t forget this is a job and family always comes first. Do not marry another corrections officer, it is hard enough on a family to have one, but two is risky.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Absolutely! This is actually where I will remain until I retire.

What are your current career goals?
To assist new officers with my knowledge and passion for the job.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Don’t doubt yourself, you are more qualified than you think!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Corrections Officer 6 years $17.00 hr Maintaining security for the security threat groups in medium security (gang unit)
Prior Job 2 Customer Support 2 years $9.00 hr Answering phones and dealing with complaints.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.