Claims Processor (Female, Age 36) in Collinsville, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Claims Processor in Collinsville, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleClaims Processor
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCollinsville, TX
Years Experience13 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for a major and well known insurance company. there are thousands of employees and several branches all over the united states.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i process and pay medical claims that are submitted by doctors offices and hospitals

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
paid vacation, sick time, paid holidays, insurance at a discount

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with others. i like this about my job. we work together as a team and are able to support each other when needed.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
yes we work collaboratively with our co workers and supervisors.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ami drive to work. it’s a 30 minute drive from my home.
8am to 9ami log in my computer and check my inbox for paper claims that need to be processed.
9am to 10ami check my email and check up on the updates for processing claims.
10am to 11ami work on my paper mail and claims.
11am to 12pmi go to lunch and check emails when i return from lunch.
12pm to 1pmi process claims and get them ready for audit.
1pm to 2pmi process claims and ask questions to the tech coach.
2pm to 3pmi attend an audit and quality meeting.
3pm to 4pmi process claims and get my work ready for audit.
4pm to 5pmi cleans off my desk and put up my items from the day.
5pm to 6pmi log out of the computer for the day. i drive home.
6pm to 7pmi am at home cooking supper.
7pm to 8pmget the kids ready for bed.
8pm to 9pmrest and relax.
9pm to 10pmget my clothes ready for the next work day.
10pm to 11pmi retire to bed.
11pm to 12ami sleep.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
my mom and best friend worked there.

What was the application process?
paper

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, i had 2 interviews before i was hired for my postion. the first interview was a one on one and the 2nd interview was with 2 supervisors for the company. i also had to take a typing and 10 key skill test.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
do you work well with others? can you work overtime? what do you want in a job? do you expect to leave the company in 5 years? where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. i was given the tools necessary to perform my job as expected.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
there was 6 weeks of paid training. it taught me the company guidelines for employees, how to process claims, and what was expected out of me as an individual. it taught me medical terminology and how to read a claim for as well as their computer system.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no. i have a high school diploma and no other formal medical training.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not applicable.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
i would recommend that the person print up a resume and take it with them to fill out an application in person at my company. i would complete the form and turn it in w/ my resume on the same day.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
10 key calculator skills, customer service skills, fast and accurate typing skills, some medical insurance knowledge

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no it’s not necessary.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
i would suggest to go in training w/ an open mind. take notes and pay close attention to the training. be a team player and be open to change.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i have always wanted to work for this company. i like my job. i leave it at work when i go home.

What are your current career goals?
to maintain employment until i retire.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
i like my job. i have always wanted to work for this company. i plan on retiring here.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1medical claims processor13 years27000process medical claims
Prior Job 2security guard1 year12000answer phones and log in visitors to a company

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.