Mental Health Worker/ Case Manager (Female, Age 26) in Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Mental Health Worker/ Case Manager in Brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMental Health Worker/ Case Manager
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrooklyn, NY
Years Experience13 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Child Center Of NY formerly known as Queens Child Guildance center. It services children from 0-18 years old ranging from different aspects of services such as Preventive, mental ect.ect.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide assessment of the client to see what entitlments they are able to apply to. i help with SSI applications, Housing , and ACd voucher Day car services, legal services, summer camps and different types of services.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1199 Union benfits, its the best!!! no co-payments of any sort, plus its the union

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with other, but mostly by myself. I like this about my job not too much pressure of having someone over you.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We share information, resources.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amgetting ready for work
8am to 9amdriving to work
9am to 10ammeeting with staff
10am to 11amIntake with client and follow-up
11am to 12pmintake with client and closing
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmFollow-up on referrals, and progress notes
2pm to 3pmComputer data input on client you seen
3pm to 4pmdaily sheets of what you done for the day.
4pm to 5pmlast minutes calls. Progress notes and imput information on the computer through the software.
5pm to 6pmleaving for work.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submitted a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes I had an interview. 2 interviews one with the project manager and the other with the supervisior.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How long working in this field. Do you know about benfits ex, PA. Are you able to work evening

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No lol, they didn’t know much about the role of this position.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No it was no training you had to come in with the expereience under your belt, but if you wanted training as far more information for you, they provided it

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
lol No, to be perfectly honest I thought the Field prepared me more than the books.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Finish school!!! Number one and know how to present yourself and know your information. Get background information on the company too.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Communication, organizational skills, typing, computer skills, educational skills, cultural experience, bi-lingual is a plus

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Know about the different services that are ava to people. example Public assitance benfits, SSI ect.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yeah i guess i want to be a children counselor

What are your current career goals?
make more money and do less for it lol

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Case Manager2 yrs31000Prevention of Evicition in the Bushwick brooklyn area
Prior Job 2CM2 yrs30000Supplemental housing intervention program, same as above

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Plattsburgh UniversityCriminal Justice
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.