Teacher (Female, Age 30) in Bedford, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Teacher in Bedford, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeacher
Salary$33,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBedford, VA
Years Experience13 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a Head Start teacher for Lynchburg Community Action Group. It is a nonprofit orginization that helps the local community. There are many different ways that Lyn-CAG helps the community through education, housing benefits, and assistance with childcare.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am the teacher in a class with 18 children. The children are aged 3-5 and mixed ages. We follow a letter of the week curriculium as well as studing various themes throughout the year. The themes we cover are All About Me, Autumn Harvest, Community Helpers, Transportation, Famous Americans, Backyard Science, Around the World, and Animals. The job is fast paced and fun! I love it!

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401 K, Dental, Health

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
At my job site there are 2 classrooms in the public school. My immediate supervisor has the classroom next door. We each work with a teaching assistance. I really enjoy the people I work with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We are located in mobile classrooms outside of a public school and about 20 minute from the main school.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 2

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
submit application then group interview then name submitted to the policy counsel

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
First I submited an application, then a group interview (I was interviewed by a parent, education supervisor, mental health supervisor)then my name was submitted to the policy counsel for approval then I was offerred the job

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Questions about classroom management and specific scenerio questions

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes – but each year (heck each day) is filled with unique challenges

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes 2 weeks of book and video training with the education supervisor as well as CPR and First Aid

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes – I have my BS in human dev and learning

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes I student taught

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recomend that they intern in a similar enviroment – teaching at the preschool level is a little bit innate.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, orgination, enthusiasm, a sense of humor

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes a BS in Education

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
That you need a sense of humor and clear expectations for the children in your care

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes I am just glad to be using my degree!

What are your current career goals?
To create life long learners!

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1teacher8 months12000Lead teacher of a 3 year old classroom in a day care center – working with 2 teaching assistants and 18 children aged 3 to 4 enrolled
Prior Job 2teacher2 months12000Lead teacher of a toddler class – working with 2 teaching assistants and 12 children aged 2 to 3 enrolled

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4Lynchburg CollegeBS Human Dev and Learning
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.