Research Technician (Female, Age 23) in Riverside, CT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Research Technician in Riverside, CT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Research Technician
Salary $23,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location Riverside, CT
Years Experience 13 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
University Hospital

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Schedule patients, conduct clinical studies, general scientific research, write manuscripts

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health/Disability/Life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I do like working with others, makes the work day less boring.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am personal time
8am to 9am personal time
9am to 10am Listened to voice messages. Returned phone call to patient who wanted to schedule a test and doctor seeking test results. Located and then faxed test results.
10am to 11am Checked work email. Responded to emails regarding manuscript in works. Spoke with supervisor about current study, what needs to be done, etc.
11am to 12pm Did some data analysis of data from current study. Inputting #’s and running statistics.
12pm to 1pm Personal time.
1pm to 2pm Patient in the laboratory, had him sign informed consent, fill out paperwork, did testing.
2pm to 3pm Analyzed data from patient. Went over data with supervisor.
3pm to 4pm Assisted doctor with finding out detailed technical information about one of our pieces of equipment.
4pm to 5pm Leave at 4pm, personal time.
5pm to 6pm personal time
6pm to 7pm personal time
7pm to 8pm personal time
8pm to 9pm personal time
9pm to 10pm personal time
10pm to 11pm personal time
11pm to 12am personal time

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. One interview with supervisor and employee who was leaving the position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
General questions about my education and research background.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, did a week’s worth of on-the-job training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. Entailed person with position prior to me walking through the equipment in the lab, the current research studies, important contacts, etc.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Studied sciences in undergraduate career. Did own independent clinical research as part of senior thesis.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Do undergraduate research in the sciences. Do a BS in one of the hard sciences.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Ability to synthesize information. Data analysis skills. Empathy/people skills. Writing ability.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Read everything you can get your hands on. If possible, get person with your prior position to fully explain the status of the research projects.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. Plan to go to medical school.

What are your current career goals?
Medical Doctor

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Physical Therapy Aide 6mos 15 Assisted physical therapists with patients in the clinic.
Prior Job 2 Research Assistant 3yrs $10/hr Research Assistant for lab during undergraduate career. Assisted with conducting the research projects out of the lab.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4 Duke University Psychology, BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.