Executive Manager (Female, Age 44) in East Brunswick, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 44 who works as a Executive Manager in East Brunswick, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleExecutive Manager
Salary$150,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationEast Brunswick, NY
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a very large top 10 pharmaceutical company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I meet with physicians, nurses, pharmacists and other medical personnel on a daily basis to discuss and educate them about my company\\\’s products.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4+ weeks vacation, choice of health insurance including Cigna, Aetna, United Health Care, dental, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am slightly undercompensated for my position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a large variety of clients on a daily basis. I enjoy assisting medical personnel gain comfort with our products. They are able to better communicate and provide comfort and reduce problems for patients.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work location is my car in the field. I enjoy the freedom to choose where I think I need to be each day. I can follow up as I see fit to a large degree. I also have a home office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was persistent and sent out hundreds of resumes.

What was the application process?
Submitted a resume back in the day.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Of course you will need to interview–multiple times. You start with a manager or managers and then if you are getting closer you will meet with a regional manager for the final decision but not always. Sometimes you will have a second interview with the same manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cannot remember back 20+ years ago the specific questions. Alot of them are the same though. “Tell me about a time you encountered a problem with an account or a client. How did you resolve it?”

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, absolutely. Nothing is left to chance. You are trained, prepared and ready to go with all the constant testing and studying.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There is constant training for my current position. It is rigorous and detailed. You need to study thick binders of data on disease states and on your specific products. You are expected to be the expert and have an excellent understanding of your products and how they work for specific indicated disease states. The training and testing is ongoing online and in live mock interviews.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
It did. I had a good understanding of the basic science.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You need to start out working in the primary care environment. I would start by asking your own doctor if he has a relationship with any of his sales representatives. See if you can get in touch with them and have them submit your resume. Start looking on company websites and submit applications and resumes. You must be persistent or you will not get interviews.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need to be personable and outgoing. You need to be persistent but not annoying. You have to have good social skills and be a person that can work independently. You need to be able to pick up the phone and call someone when you need help because you don’t have someone in the cubicle next to you–you are on your own.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You need a 4 year college degree minimum.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be careful about who you trust and be cautious about sharing too much. Best to listen and learn.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is working for me now. It is flexible and I need that in my life at this point.

What are your current career goals?
My career goals are to stay where I am. I enjoy the flexibility of my current career.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a great option for someone that is a good self manager but wants their freedom.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Representative8 months35000I was a sales representative for a hospital. I sold medical service contracts.
Prior Job 2Sales Manager10 years90000I was a sales manager for a large pharmaceutical company. I worked in field sales.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5BrandeisSociology BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
NA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.