Operations Manager (Male, Age 47) in River Forest, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 47 who works as a Operations Manager in River Forest, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOperations Manager
Salary$98,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRiver Forest, IL
Years Experience12 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
500 person direct access broker

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
trading floor operations supervision

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 6 sick days, 401k match , ppo health

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes and I enjoy it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI check outtrades at two different exhanges. I line up employees for days duties. monitor email
8am to 9amContinue outttrades. I address and rectify current and past day problems.
9am to 10amPhone calls resolving ongoing issues. Check employees for any problems. Talk to individual employees personally. monitor email
10am to 11ammeeting with supervisor regarding on going issues and a few new issues.
11am to 12pmLunch at my desk while reviewing statistics from the previous day. monitor email
12pm to 1pmReview emails to prepare for trading later in the week. continue to address present day problems.
1pm to 2pmprepare reports for HR. tie up any problems from current day. moinitor email
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
Resume and interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes,one interview and testing

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes worked with others for awhile

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
on job training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes finance classes were important

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
bachelors degree

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
work well with people, handle pressure

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes college grad

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be patient and work with others

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes I am in the industry I like

What are your current career goals?
Upper management

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1trader10 yrsvaried 30-120k
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Loyolafinance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.